The 1989 Topps Design Is Really Starting To Grow On Me…

I’ve always liked the look of this card, but as I search through Ebay for player lots or cards to add to my player collections, the 1989 Topps issue looks better and better to me each time I pass one by.

As a kid, I probably had 2 or 3 complete sets of these.  And I probably had countless other rookie and star cards from the set in my albums.

But the impact of the overall design has not hit me until very recently.  I believe that the 1989 Topps set could pass as a vintage set from 20-30 before it’s release date.

Check out how well Topps incorporated the team colors of the player’s team with the trim and team logos on the card.

 

Now, here is an example of a close-up shot we would have expected to see back in the 60’s or 70’s.  A nice close-up shot of a player getting ready to take a practice swing.  Although the photo does not appear to be staged, it reminds me of the many images from the 60’s and 70’s of players mimicking what they do in a game.

Here is a great shot of the player at bat anticipating the pitch.  Although it is not an action shot since he is not swinging the bat, it reminds me of so many attempts Topps made in the 1970’s as they tried to provide real action shots when there was nothing really happening.

Lastly, the All-Star card.  This would have looked great as an issue from the 1960’s.  Imagine this card with a close-up of Frank Robinson or Hank Aaron.  This card’s design can withstand the test of time.

Is it just me, or does anyone else reading this have similar feelings about the 1989 Topps product?  As a player collector with no real interest in set building, I think that if I were to attempt a set it would be this one.  I love the look of the cards and being that this set is over 19 years old it could be considered vintage.  Hell, the look kind of gives it that feel too…

Let me know your thoughts?  Am I alone on this or do you agree as well??

11 responses to “The 1989 Topps Design Is Really Starting To Grow On Me…

  1. I love 1989 Topps too. It’s one of my all-time favorites. It’s too bad that Topps made a trillion of these cards, ensuring that they’ll never be worth anything, even in 100 years.

  2. I’ve grown to appreciate ’89 Topps more. I’m a set builder, not a player collector, and in 1989 it was my quest to collect the entire ’89 Topps set from a single drug store (I came up 4 cards short, which I’ve since traded for). But with that strategy came loads and loads of doubles and I got sick of seeing the design (kind of like hearing the same song on the radio over and over).

    But now, for the exact reasons you’ve cited, I can see how this set is an overlooked gem.

  3. I never really cared for the 1989 Topps set in 1989. Given the choice, I’d opt for the pack of Donruss or Upper Deck or Sportsflics if I could find them.

    Looking back now, the Topps design holds up better than any of them (except maybe Upper Deck.)

  4. Classic clean look. Vety Topps looking…and that’s a good thing.

  5. 1989 Topps to me is THE BEST looking set Topps has ever done. Clean design. Team with player’s name is inconspicuously pushed to the bottom haning on the team specific color coded borders. Lots of space for the picture. You just could not go wrong with the design. Even if the backs of the cards were a condition sensitive black, it just made the pictures on the front that much brighter.

    I love 1989. It was the first set I ever completed. And it is the set that hooked me onto this Hobby.

    Sincerely,

    JayBee Anama

    (Now flipping the pages of his 1989 Topps album…)

  6. Not too bad for a $20 set. This was the first set I ever bought back in 1990.

  7. This was the very first set I got cards from when I was 5 years old. It took 19 years but I finally finished the set this past summer trading with a coworker for my last 7 cards. I bought an entire jumbo box just to bust and still only got 4 of the 11 cards I needed at that point. The design is so nostalgic to me but even still, it’s a cool set. The Steve Avery draft pick card looks great and the Canseco is iconic.

  8. B/C of your post I just opened 3 jumbo packs of 89 Topps. I had been saving them since the early 1990’s. I have a few more packs… I might as well open them too.

  9. Gerad – Did you pull anything good?

  10. what is a 1989 Topps unopened set worth?

Leave a Reply

