If You Were To Name A New ‘Mr. October’ Who Would It Be??

No disrespect meant towards Reggie Jackson.  I am a big fan of his and feel that I have done a good job in honoring him this month in my posts.

But, he was tagged as ‘Mr. October’ way back in 1977.  So, I am sure that there are other players that played after him in the World Series that have excelled on baseball’s biggest stage too.  Have they surpassed what he accomplished back in 1977?  Maybe not.  But if you had to choose 1 player since Reggie’s incredible performance in the 1977 World Series to be tagged as the ‘New Mr. October’ who would you choose???

Let the games begin…

There are so many candidates to choose from: Orel Hershiser, Joe Carter, Derek Jeter, Mariano Rivera, Kirk Gibson, Kent Hrbek, and the list goes on and on….

My choice is:  Bernie Williams.  In 121 post season games, Williams has accumulated some very impressive stats.  A .275 batting average with 128 hits.  With 485 at-bats he has hit 22 home runs and driven in 80 runs while striking out just 85 times.

So if I were to choose a new ‘Mr. October’ my guy would remain with the same team as Reggie, but he starred with the New York Yankees 20 years later.

One response to “If You Were To Name A New ‘Mr. October’ Who Would It Be??

  1. I dont think anything topps Reggies 3 home runs in one game. I like what the above players have done especially Kirk’s home run…. This is a tough one for me to answer! I’ll have to pick my brain some more…

Leave a Reply

