Gifts From Wax Heaven

Mario from Wax Heaven  recently sent over 2 cards that I received in the mail this afternoon.  No matter who the donor is, I am always very surprised and grateful that people think of me when they see a specific card.  On top of that, offering the cards to me for no fee or trade really lets me know that I belong to a great baseball card collecting community.

On to the good stuff…

1.  1983 Topps Fergie Jenkins – Super Veteran

fergie-sv

Although I already owned this card as part of my player collection, this gift from Mario has inspired me to add a new subset to my collection.  I want to get all of the 1983 Super Veteran cards.  I am not sure how I can obtain a list of all of the players that were in this set, but starting with Fergie Jenkins is a great first step.  If anyone knows how I can obtain a checklist of this subset, please pass that information along as it would be greatly appreciated!!

2.  2008 Goudey Andre Dawson – mini

dawson-mini

I love this card.   I love everything about this card.  First, it’s Andre.  Second, the design screams vintage which happens to be my favorite kind of card to shop for and admire.  I have had this card as well as the base version on my ‘mental want list’ for some time now and now thanks to Mario 1/2 of that task is complete.  I’ll have to find the base card to finish this little 2-card set off.

At this time, I would normally plug the person’s blog that sent these cards to me.  But, to be honest, I have to imagine at this point that all of the people that have found my blog are readers of Wax Heaven.  Hell, it’s likely that several of my readers found me by checking out his page first.  Either way, reading Wax Heaven has become part of my daily routine.  Checking emails, looking at the box scores from last night’s games, and reading Wax Heaven is a great way to start the day!!

Thanks again, Mario!!!

3 responses to “Gifts From Wax Heaven

  1. Here’s a list of the 83T super vets:
    18 K Tekulve
    36 R Fingers
    61 J Bench
    71 S Carlton
    101 P Rose
    146 D Sutton
    151 B Sutter
    161 D Kingman
    179 L Tiant
    201 R Carew
    231 F Jenkins
    241 R Gossage
    256 G Garber
    283 R Smith
    301 M Schmidt
    334 D LaRoche
    361 N Ryan
    378 L May
    411 P Niekro
    421 A Oliver
    451 T Simmons
    464 G Perry
    491 J Palmer
    501 R Jackson
    511 T McGraw
    551 C Yastrzemski
    581 T Seaver
    604 J Morgan
    636 G Nettles
    673 J Kaat
    694 S Lyle
    716 T Perez
    736 T John
    741 R Staub
    783 B Murcer

  2. Pingback: 2008 Goudey Andre Dawson 2-Card Set « 30-year old Cardboard

  3. Pingback: My 1983 Topps ‘Super Veterans’ Set Is Complete!!!! « 30-Year Old Cardboard

Leave a Reply

