That Guy #5

This ‘That Guy’ story focuses on a player that I overheard a conversation about when I was a kid.  I was at a baseball card show and overheard 2 dealers talking pretty vividly about Tom Brunansky.  1 dealer was convinced that ‘Bruno’ was a lock to hit 500 home runs and join the Hall of Fame, and the other guy just didn’t see it that way.

Although I have no recollection of what these guys looked like, their vocabulary is what caught my attention and is probably the biggest reason as to why I remember much of the dialogue.

It went a little something like this.  Try to picture this as a conversation between Robert DeNiro and Joe Pesci.

Dealer #1 – You know, I’ve been stocking up on cards of Bruno.  I mean, dis guy is smackin’ homers left and right.  If he keeps this up, he’s a future fawkin’ hall of fama.

Dealer #2 – Bruno ain’t makin’ it to da hall.  No way!

Dealer #1 – What the fawk you talkin’ ’bout, ‘dis guy is hittin’ 30 plus a year.  If he gets 500, he’s in.

Dealer #2 – He ain’t neva comin’ close to 500.  No way!

Dealer #1 – He just might.  So I’ve been gettin’ all kinds of his fawkin’ cads.  Rookies, 2nd yeez, 3rd yeez, pretty cheap too.  If he stays on dis pace I would make a killin’ on deez cads.

Dealer #2 – What do you not get?  Bruno ain’t sniffin’ 500.  No way, no how!!!

Let me tell you, this conversation stuck with me for quite some time.  I may not have the wording exactly right, but you get the gist of the conversation.  So, what did I do?  I bought a few Tom Brunansky rookies over the course of the next few months and viola – Bruno has 271 career home runs.  At the time of this conversation, I was around the age of 12.  And you know what, if Bruno did continue on his pace from the few seasons prior to that one 500 could have been a possibility. 

So, now I open it up to you.  Do you have a ‘That Guy’ story that falls into the category of someone you overheard a conversation about and it sparked your interest enough to drop a few dollars in that player’s direction?  If so, please share your ‘That Guy’ with us…

bruno

4 responses to “That Guy #5

  1. Now I’m not sayin’ for nutin’ but if you wuz ta tawk like dat over here … in my neighborhood,

    well, somabody gonna take a … whooz dem two guys … oh .. a yea … Louiville and slugger upside ya …

    just fugettaboutit.

    We wazn’t tawkin’ ’bout Bruno, we wuz tawkin’ about Mattingly.

  2. Immediately the names Tim Salmon and Phil Plantier come to mind. I remember the Plantier UD rookie being THE card when I was about 12.

  3. Frank Thomas….and it paid off.

Leave a Reply

