Happy Anniversary Michael Jack Schmidt!!!

20 years ago today, Mike Schmidt retired from the game of baseball. 

Watching this video still gives me chills…

I remember this press conference like it was yesterday.  Even as a 13-year old kid, I understood how hard it was for a player like Mike Schmidt to leave the game of baseball.  One of the game’s biggest stars for close to 2 decades, Schmidt solidified himself as one of the greatest power hitters of all-time.

With a resume filled with elite milestones, Schmidt was able to leave the game as one it’s greatest players but that did not make the final decision any easier for him.

Cheers to you Mike Schmidt – A baseball hero and a class act!!! 

3 responses to “Happy Anniversary Michael Jack Schmidt!!!

  1. I’d never seen that before. It made me tear up a bit. I just posted his 1989 Bowman card yesterday, and I didn’t realize that that was the 20th anniversary of his last game.

  2. Man I remember that day like it was yesterday–happened in San Diego. Was so sad.

  3. its strange to see a big strong major leaguer break down like that

Leave a Reply

