The Status Of My Billy Williams Collection

It’s very simple.  This is a collection I started back in 1990 after moving to the city of Chicago.  Billy Williams was still the talk of the town 3 years removed from his enshrinement into Cooperstown.  While Ernie Banks is the king of Chicago baseball, I fell for Billy Williams.

The collection started quickly but has taken quite a long time to get to where it is today.  Although I did have a 15+ year hiatus in the mix, this collection is coming close to being 20 years in the works. 

And while I still have a nice handful of cards to get for this set to be complete, I am in no rush at all.  To be quite honest, I don’t want to finish it yet.  It’s been too much fun and I don’t want the excitement about getting new(old) cards of Williams to fade.

So here is what I currently own.  It’s not a whole lot, but the meaning more than makes up for the volume.

100_6568

An autographed copy of his book personalized ‘To Brian’, a signed National League baseball, 22 cards from his playing days, and a small handful of certified autograph and game-used memorabilia cards.

All of a sudden I have an itch to add a few more to my collection…  Stay tuned!!!

2 responses to “The Status Of My Billy Williams Collection

  1. Great stuff, and great posts all day long. Thanks for the fun trip down memory lane.

  2. Nice collection. One of my favorite cards is that Dawson/Williams dual auto from 05 UD Ultimate. Great card, great set!

    moe.

Leave a Reply

