My Rickey Henderson ‘Fab 5′ – Card #1

Now that my Rickey Henderson player collection is complete I wanted to take the time to show off my favorite 5 cards from this set.

Card #1 – 1985 Fleer

Finally, the #1 card in my Rickey Henderson collection can be revealed!!!

This card from the 1985 Fleer set is perfect.  Starting with the picture, I am not sure that any other image could capture the essence of Rickey as a player the way that this one has.  From his lead off of first base to his crouching stance as he prepares to dig in and race towards second to his amazing concentration as he watches the interaction between the pitcher, catcher, and hitter as he makes his plan to swipe yet another base.  This photo does it all!!!

The ’85 design is rather plain, but it’s team themed borders bring it all together.  And while the grey outer-border is rather dull, it allows for the bold features of the card to pop beautifully!!!

1985 Fleer - My favorite Rickey Henderson baseball card. 

Fab 1

One response to “My Rickey Henderson ‘Fab 5′ – Card #1

  1. What a great card. I didn’t get the chance to collect anything pre-87 in any great numbers, but I’ve see a couple posts recently from the ’85 fleer set and between ’85 fleer as well as ’83 fleer I feel like I missed out a little. I like both of those designs.

Leave a Reply

