Darryl Strawberry 1989 Topps All-star card

Darryl Strawberry 1989 Topps All-star card

Of the 12 packs I ripped through of 1989 Topps, I only pulled 1 card for my player collections.  In total there are 11 cards of the guys I collect in that set, so I was a little surprised that I only scored 1.

Here it is:

Straw 89 Topps AS

I have always been a big fan of All-star cards.  I mean, these guys are the game’s top players and they have been celebrated and honored as such.  So of course it makes sense to celebrate them with a nice piece of cardboard to capture that moment.

In ’89 ‘Straw’ had what could be considered a ‘down year’ statistically compared to what he had done in prior seasons.  Still, he earned an All-star roster spot and finished the ’89 season with 29 home runs, 77 RBI, 69 runs scored, and made his 6th of 8 All-star teams.

One response to “Darryl Strawberry 1989 Topps All-star card

  1. i have this same card and a 25th anniversary 1987 tops collectors edition card. Also i have 100’s of more old baseball cards from topps so if anyone is interested just email me at janicesarver@hotmail.com thanks!

Leave a Reply

