‘On The Road With psugator02′ – March 30, 2010

March 30, 2010

Dodgers’ backfield workouts 10-11:30 a.m.
Glendale, Ariz.

Didn’t know what to expect when I arrived. Figured that most of the starters would be at the away game in Tucson. However, the only starter to travel was Loney. The rest were back in Glendale. And this time I would only have to battle a few dozen people. It sure is a lot different when you’re not competing with a million other graphers.

Don Mattingly: 1/1 (Beckett magazine from 1990)…signs daily but for some reason only in one spot. “You guys know where I do it.”
Chad Billingsley: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)….Real friendly guy. Signed for at least 20 minutes after the workout
Hiroki Kuroda: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)
Clayton Kershaw: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)
Andre Ethier: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)
Matt Kemp: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)…had the ROMLB ready but this time he was SPing. not sure why because the other day at A’s he was giving SSs
Russ Martin: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)…he stopped his car on the way out of the parking lot and was VERY friendly
Manny Ramirez: 0/1…while riding a three-wheeler back to the clubhouse….would’ve been the perfect time to do it because there were only a handful of graphers there

A’s at White Sox
Glendale, Ariz.
11:30-4

Kevin Kouzmanoff: 1/1 (’09 Ginter)….graph worse than the one he gave me a few days ago. This time it was just “KK”
Coco Crisp: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)…great dude. asked him to tell me how he got the Coco nickname (his real name is Covelli) but he said it was a long story….took pics with…even shouted into someone’s cell phone
Kurt Suzuki: 1/1 (’09 Ginter)….a bit weird, in addition to being difficult, when I saw him in NYC. but very cool today
Daric Barton: 1/1 (’08 Ginter state card)….only a handful of people even cared about getting his graph yet he couldn’t do his second ’08 Ginter. “I told you I’m only doing one.” weird dude.
Eric Chavez: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)
Ozzie Guillen: 1/1 (’89 Donruss DK)…i like his graph
Jake Peavy: 1/2 (’08 Ginter). would’ve gotten him on SS but didn’t want another ball that had no Cy inscription. got lucky again as I left the game in the 6th inning and got Peavy two minutes later in the parking lot
Mark Buehrle: 1/1 (’08 Ginter)…he couldn’t have been cooler. going to get his perfect game 8×10 done next

Indians at Royals
Surprise, Ariz. (My favorite stadium in the Cactus League)
5-9 p.m.

Eric Hosmer: 1/1 (8×10 with help). Didn’t want to bother doing the minors ‘cuz I wanted to graph the majors as soon as I arrived. So a big thank-you to Tony, a local grapher, for the help
Grady Sizemore: 1/1 (Rich Abel 5×7 that I’ve had since ’02)..Mine was the only graph he signed all night…I’ll have plenty of time to get his Ginter done since I’m seeing the Indians two more times before I leave
Yuniesky Betancourt: 0/1
Billy Butler: 0/1..wouldn’t even acknowledge me
Mike Aviles: 0/1…wouldn’t even acknowledge me
Zack Greinke: 0/1, 0/1, 0/1, 0/1…only signing team balls. and even then he was killing them all with a black Sharpie. weird dude.
Rick Ankiel: 0/1….he did sign a bit but I missed him because I was getting Sizemore

Other: Ernie Young was at the A’s-Sox game, but I had nothing for him. … I have to plug AZ Cards. Stopped by there a few days ago and had a long talk with proprietor Donald Yost, who promptly gave me two free tickets to today’s White Sox game. The store is loaded with cool stuff and has the best prices on ROMLBs in all of Phoenix. … Bob Feller signed autographs for free at the Indians-Royals game in Surprise. I’ve gotten the guy so many times that I didn’t even bother. … Talked to Jordan Danks briefly while waiting outside the player parking lot. Real polite kid.

One response to “‘On The Road With psugator02′ – March 30, 2010

  1. glad that Grady Sizemore 5×7 worked out finally

Leave a Reply

