My Orel Hershiser ‘Fab 5′ – Card #1

My Orel Hershiser ‘Fab 5′ – Card #1

Now that my Orel Hershiser player collection is complete I wanted to take the time to show off my favorite 5 cards from this set.

Card #1 – 1993 Donruss

Simply stated, this card is bad-ass!!!

A perfect picture that is rarely seen on a sports card, this shot shows us exactly what the hitter, catcher, and umpire see right before Hershiser got into his wind-up. 

And with what appears to be a very relaxed body, it’s amazing how quickly and powerfully Orel would turn that body into a pitching machine that could dominate hitters like few others could.  His ‘bulldog’ persona and ability to intimidate hitters with his array of pitches made Hershiser one of the game’s great pitchers for the better part of half of a decade.

And if I were looking at this when I was at the plate, my knees would buckle a bit too.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my Orel Hershiser ‘Fab 5′.  I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I did sharing it!!

3 responses to “My Orel Hershiser ‘Fab 5′ – Card #1

  1. Wow, that is one hell of a shot. I like it a lot!

  2. Wow. Thanks for bringing alive this card. I never thought about his body is so relaxed right before the pitch. His whole body right now looks like it’s sleeping on a hanger.

  3. Pingback: Morning Coffee and the Blog Roundup 10/11 – WHY Edition « NatsTown

Leave a Reply

