Signing Results: 1988 Mr. Everything – Orel Hershiser

Signing Results:  1988 Mr. Everything – Orel Hershiser

Taking way much longer than what I had expected, I signed up for a rare signing with Orel Hershiser that was supposed to occur late in the summer of 2010.

Hershiser is like an elusive animal – hard to catch, and oftentimes leaves you catching just a glimpse but never long enough to snap a picture.

So, I waited.  And waited.  And waited some more.

Through the end of the 2010 baseball season.  And through a broken arm, rehab, and bad timing – I waited….

Well, the wait paid off, as it usually does, and now I have signed baseball number 45 in my collection.

And it is signed brilliantly by 1988′s Mr. Everything – Orel Hershiser.  I opted for the 1988 NL CY inscription, and now that I see the ball, I wish that I went for a 1988 CY, NLCS MVP, WS MVP inscription.

But beggars cannot be chosers, and I am just thrilled to finally get this ball home.  It had been a very long time, but the result is absolutely worth the wait.

See for yourself…

I told ya!!

Signed perfectly by one of the pitchers that captivated me during my youth, this baseball marks the entire 1988 baseball season for me.  A season that I will never forget thanks to ‘The Bulldog’!!!

4 responses to “Signing Results: 1988 Mr. Everything – Orel Hershiser

  1. Very, very nice. I’m extremely envious. Sometimes things are worth waiting for.

  2. I’m confused (or slow). Did you wait for it in the mail or did you attend some event?

    I’ve had a TTM auto request out for Hershiser for more than a year. I don’t expect it to come back, but this might give me hope.

    • Night Owl-

      I sent the ball in for a private signing. The original signing date was in August of last year… Everything I read says that he is one of the toughest autos of any big-time player from the 1980′s. I hate to say it, but your TTM and my TTM requests that are out there will probably be out there for eternity… Sorry.

  3. Super! Whos next???

Leave a Reply

