Jim Palmer 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’

Jim Palmer 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’

It’s not very often that I have picked up a card from this 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’ series where I also own the original version.  And if I do own the original, it’s probably pretty accurate to say that the 2010 replica version is a much better quality and conditioned baseball card.

So, for this one of Jim Palmer – Yes, I do own the original 1966 Topps card, and now I have the replica of the same card that was created 44 years after the original.

Can you guess which one I like best?

Here’s a hint:

:)

7 responses to “Jim Palmer 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’

  1. I STILL cannot believe that for as long as he pitched, he NEVER gave up a grand slam! Unreal!

  2. Is that true, Ron? I had never heard that statistic. Can you provide a link to verify? (Not that I don’t trust you…. he he)

    Hey, any idea what the the value of this original Palmer topped off at back in the day… and what’s it worth now?

  3. Playing career
    Following as been copied and pasted from wikipedia, although I first read about this when he got inducted into the HALL back in 1990. Enjoy

    Palmer has been considered one of the best pitchers in Orioles – and major-league – history. He was a mainstay in the rotation during Baltimore’s six pennant-winning teams in the 1960s (1966 & 1969), 1970s (1970, 1971 & 1979) and 1980s (1983). Also, he is the only pitcher in big-league history to win World Series games in three decades (1966, 1970–71, 1983). One of his most amazing feats is that during his 20-year major league career of 575 games (including 17 postseason games), he never surrendered a grand slam.

  4. After checking many of my back issue Beckett magazines and other yearly price guides that I have in my collection, it appears that Jim Palmer RC topped out at $225 in the May 1991 of Beckett, (issue#74 w/ my main guy Cal Ripken on the cover, hehe). Also of note, Fergie Jenkins’ RC from that same 1966 set was valued at $100 (with a sparkling new up arrow), and your main guy, Andre Dawson, was valued at $50, which it has reached multiple times in history.

  5. Oh and I forgot. Palmer currently valued at $60 in NM condition.

Leave a Reply

