’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – ‘Top Ten Tom Cruise Films’

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – ‘Top Ten Tom Cruise Films’

My wife and I made a huge mistake by renting and watching ‘Knight And Day’ last night.  Starring two A-list actors, Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, this movie was horrible from start to end.

And after wondering why we just wasted two hours watching the film, I wanted to know how much these two box-office stars got for their roles in the movie as it was clear to me that they must have been paid very well as there was no way that the script or story is what attracted them to this one…

After a few minutes of research, I see that Cruise earned 13 million for this film.  I would have, and possibly could have, performed just as well for considerably less.

So, all of this has got me thinking, what are my favorite Tom Cruise films?  He is not one of my favorite actors, but I do think that everyone has a favorite, right?

Anyways, after some serious thinking, here is my list:

Honorable mention – A Few Good Men, The Firm, Cocktail, All The Right Moves, and Collateral.

10 – Mission Impossible, Part 1.  Good story, good cast, and memorable action scenes.

9 – Top Gun – An ’80s classic.  Tons of memorable scenes – the film that really launched Cruise’s career.

8 – Days Of Thunder – Fun action with intense racing scenes, I never got the feeling that Cruise fully got into the role of Cole Trickle.

7 – Jerry Maguire – Another ‘classic’, but I found Cruise to be out-acted by Cuba Gooding and Renee Zelwegger on this one.

6 – Rain Man – Cruise was overshadowed in every way imaginable by Hoffman on this one.  Hoffman carried the film the entire way, and Cruise was a sufficient, but not overly impressive, supporting actor.

5 – The Outsiders – A personal favorite with a very memorable cast!!

4 – Color Of Money – Great film.  Cruise did a very good job on this one.  I am impressed with how he worked on-screen with Newman.

3 – Risky Business – A fun story, I think that Cruise really steals the show with this movie.  On screen with better actors, he demands your attention in each and every scene in which he appears.

2 – Born On The 4th Of July – Phenomenal!!!  Start to finish – a masterpiece!!!

1 – The Last Samurai – While he plays the hero that saves the day and gets the girl, Cruise really got into this role and this is one of very few Cruise films in which I don’t see him as another role while playing this one.  This movie is Superb!!!

When researching to build this list, one thing became abundantly clear to me – Tom Cruise plays the same role in a lot of his films.  Handsome guys gets the beautiful girl while saving the day.  Think about that – 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, and 1 all share that very common theme just with different plots.

What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?  Let me hear it…

Thanks for reading!!

3 responses to “’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – ‘Top Ten Tom Cruise Films’

  1. Not too big of a Cruise fan but I did like The Last Samurai and Collateral Damage.

  2. Again, hard to argue with your list.
    I’d probably slide Risky Business to the #1 slot though. Great flick, features Chicago, Rebecca DeMornay…

  3. Considering that I am younger than Tom, better looking and smarter, here is his top movies.

    1. Rain Man
    2. Few Good Men
    3. War of the Worlds
    4. The Firm
    5. Minority Report
    6. Mission Impossible I
    7. Jerry McGuire
    8. Top Gun
    9. All the Right Moves
    10 MI-3

Leave a Reply

