George Foster ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1981 Donruss

George Foster ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1981 Donruss

Now that my George Foster collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #4 – 1981 Donruss

OK, I promise from here on out the rest of my George Foster ‘Fab Five’ will feature nothing but Reds cards….

And this one may be a bit controversial too – The graphics are poor, the text is bland, the image is grainy, and the colors don’t match.

Have a look:

Question: So, how does this one land in the #4 spot?

Answer: IVY!!!  Wrigley Field is the best backdrop for any baseball card.  The ivy of the outfield wall is as unmistakable as Fenway’s Green Monster!!

One response to “George Foster ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1981 Donruss

  1. I have to say. despite all of their shortcomings, those 1981 Donruss cards appeal to me. Maybe because it is the first complete set I ever had, or the vast difference from the Topps cards.. I really don’t know. But in looking back, I really like the set, enough in fact, that I recently bought 1 to replace my childhood set(and a steal at 5 bucks!!)… Anyway< I think putting that 1 in your fab five is awesome. Just consider it as a '80s card stuck in the '70s!!

Leave a Reply

