I Have Completed The 1968 Topps Game Set – YES!!!!

I Have Completed The 1968 Topps Game Set – YES!!!!

Yes, 33 weeks after debuting my first card from this legendary set, I have completed the entire set.

It was a lot of fun to focus my attention on this set, and at times I thought that my goal of completing the set was unattainable. 

Before I get into a few notes about this set and what it took for me to put it together, let me show you the whole thing.

Here are the cards:

Pretty sweet, huh?  Yeah, this one easily ranks as the best set of cards I have built since getting back into the hobby more than four years ago.  The set is packed with baseball history, and is a very solid representation of ‘true vintage’.

While going through the process of putting this set together, I found out quite a bit about the players that were included.  And while I could never find the details as to why  Topps chose these 33 players, some are very obvious due to their career achievements and others due to their fantastic 1967 baseball seasons.

A few more random notes about the set:

  • the full set cost me just under $50 to put together
  • the most expensive card for me to obtain was the Mickey Mantle card, followed by Roberto Clemente and then Brooks Robinson
  • there are notable ommissions from the set – Jim Palmer, Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Maury Wills, Phil Niekro, Fergie Jenkins, and Luis Tiant.
  • Amazingly, many of the cards from this set can still be had for just $1.00
  • The cards seem to take on a yellow hue, most likely due to age and how they were handled.  I tried my best to limit my intake of these yellowed versions as much as possible

This set was a blast to put together – and I am very happy that I challenged myself to do so.

I have a few things in mind for the next subset that I want to build, but I am not certain that any set can live up to the joy that this 1968 Topps Game set brought me.

:)

8 responses to “I Have Completed The 1968 Topps Game Set – YES!!!!

  1. Congratulations. It is a nice set. I still have some, in varying condition, that I pulled from packs in 1968.

  2. Jim Palmer can’t really be considered an omission. Although he starred in the 1966 World Series, Palmer missed most of the 1967 and all of the 1968 seasons with arm troubles. In fact, word is he was left unprotected in the 1968 expansion draft.

    He made a major comeback in 1969, and the rest is ………..

  3. Congratulations on completing your set!!
    A lot of great cards in that set!!!

  4. Congrats!! A nice set and a decent challenge as well. I would suggest the 19 Deckle Edge set with the 2 variations for your next venture. Not too pricey, lots of great stars and just an awesome look and feel. A word of warning… beware of creases only seen on the backs.

Leave a Reply

