My Ken Griffey Sr. Player Collection Is Complete!!! YES!!!

My Ken Griffey Sr. Player Collection Is Complete!!!   YES!!!

Of all of the player collections that I have compiled over the last 4+ years, the one that I have built of Ken Griffey Sr. is the smallest.

And when I say smallest, I am referring to the number of actual cards.  Griffey had 15 major brand baseball card releases while wearing his Cincinnati Reds uniform.

And now, I am the proud owner of all 15.

Here is a look at the full collection:

If ‘The Big Red Machine’ was an actual machine than Johnny Bench and George Foster would have been the engine.  And Pete Rose and Joe Morgan would have been the wheels.  And Tony Perez would have been the chassis.  And Ken Griffey would surely have been the spark plugs!!!  His ability to get on base and drive opposing pitchers nuts was supreme, especially for a young player.

I am thrilled to have built a collection that features each and every major-brand card of Griffey from his time with the Reds.  And while there are just 15 cards in the set, I will still follow suit and show off my ‘Fab Five’ starting next Monday.

Stay tuned.  And enjoy!

12 responses to “My Ken Griffey Sr. Player Collection Is Complete!!! YES!!!

  1. Reblogged this on Trading Den and commented:
    I will forever remember the years of Jr. & Sr. of there years in Seattle, some of the best times for Seattle sports history! This is a great collection to swoop up.

  2. Congratulations! His rookie card is one of the most underrated ever.

  3. 15 from his first tenure with the Redlegs. Don’t forget he came back in the late ’80s and had a few more produced wearing the Cincinnati uniform!

  4. Pingback: And Now, I Can Officially Call My Ken Griffey Sr. Player Collection D-O-N-E!!!! | 30-Year Old Cardboard

  5. ” And Ken Griffey would surely have been the spark plugs!!! ” This reminds me of a quote from “The League”:

    Kevin: It’s not just football. Sportscasters use these code words in all sports. If they’re talking about a Latino player in baseball, like, “Ozzie Guillen is a…”
    Ruxin: Firecracker. Latin guys are always firecrackers.
    Kevin: “…firecracker.”
    Pete: Spark plug.
    Kevin: Spark plug in the clubhouse.

Leave a Reply

