Daily Archives: November 2, 2012

Brooks Robinson 2001 Donruss Classics ‘Legend’

Brooks Robinson 2001 Donruss Classics ‘Legend’

It is always fun to add new cards of Brooks Robinson to my collection.  Brooks is one of the most photogenic players from his era due to his ability to consistently shine while playing either offense or defense.

And I have to admit, I really like cards that feature Mr. Robinson while he is patrolling ‘The Hot Corner’.

This card comes from the 2001 Donruss Classics ‘Legend’ set.  It is serial numbered as 109/1755, and it features just enough Gold accents to look like royalty, without being tacky.

Have a look:

A great addition to my collection that honors the legendary career of Brooks Robinson.  YES!

Rollie Fingers 1984 Topps – I Love Those Old Brewers Uniforms!!!

Rollie Fingers 1984 Topps – I Love Those Old Brewers Uniforms!!!

Like many baseball fans that enjoyed the sport in the 1980′s, one of the standout memories for me is the style of uniforms that were popular during that era.

Players wore much tighter fitting uniforms in the 80′s, and the color schemes became a lot less traditional than what had been present in prior decades.

Many teams experimented with new colors, new alternate versions of their uniforms, etc.

The Milwaukee Brewers adopted the pale-Blue uniform color that was also seen in Atlanta, Montreal, St. Louis, and Chicago at some point during the decade.

Rollie Fingers’ baseball card from the 1984 Topps set is a perfect reminder of those good old times and those great old memories!

Thank you Mr. Fingers.  And Thank You, Topps!!

1974 Headline: Hank Aaron Traded

1974 Headline:  Hank Aaron Traded

On this day in 1974, the Atlanta Braves traded Henry Aaron to the Milwaukee Brewers for Dave May and Roger Alexander.

The aging Aaron was nearing the end of his major league career, and played just two more seasons before retiring in 1976.  Still, he was a huge attraction in the sport, and continued to build on his legendary status while playing for the Brewers.

Happy Birthday Willie McGee!!!

Happy Birthday Willie McGee!!!

Willie McGee turns 54 years old today.

A true baseball star that consistently excelled for the duration of his career, McGee put on quite a show for 18 major league seasons.

A player with all-around skills, McGee was able to change the games in which he played with his multi-faceted talents.  He was a great contact hitter and finished his career with a batting average of .295 alongside 2,254 total hits.  He was also a threat on the base paths as he stole 352 bases during his career en route to scoring 1,010 runs.

In his best season of 1985, Willie McGee dominated the National League and won the MVP award.  During that season he collected 216 hits and finished the year with a .353 batting average.  For the year he hit 18 triples, 26 doubles, stole 56 bases, and scored 114 times.  Additional hardware that McGee picked up in ’85 was a batting title, a Gold Glove, an All-Star roster spot, and a Silver Slugger award.

For his birthday, I give Willie McGee my vote.  There are a few petitions around on the web trying to get enough votes to retire number 51 in St. Louis as a way to honor McGee.   I’m on board!!!  And if you are too, please submit your vote here.

Happy Birthday Mr. McGee!!!

Have You Seen Some Of The Sweet Vintage Baseball T-Shirts At Homage.com?? I Am Drooling!!!

Have You Seen Some Of The Sweet Vintage Baseball T-Shirts At Homage.com??  I Am Drooling!!!

This blog post is not endorsed or sponsored by the people at www.homage.com.  But, if it were, I would ask for my payments to be made in 100% cotton t-shirts.

This morning while doing a little web shopping, I landed on an image of a t-shirt that immediately drew me in.

This is the culprit:

Found at www.homage.com, I was completely engrossed with the site and their selection of vintage baseball tees.

The Reggie Jackson shirt is sweet, and so is the Nolan Ryan:

And the Cal Ripken:

And Ozzie Smith:

And the Johnny Bench is outstanding too:

As is the Ernie Banks:

I am a t-shirt and jeans kind of guy.  And I have a lot of baseball t-shirts in my wardrobe.  I think that it is just a matter of time before a shirt or two from the Homage.com catalog end up in my collection.

Christmas is just around the corner…  :)

S-W-E-E-T!!!!