Daily Archives: November 3, 2012

Ichiro Suzuki 2007 Topps Turkey Red

Ichiro Suzuki 2007 Topps Turkey Red

I don’t have too many cards from the ‘Turkey’ brand issued by Topps.  It’s not that I don’t like the cards, I just don’t exposes to them often enough to really be able to bring some into my collection.

I did find this Ichiro card recently, and I found it quite appealing. 

Have a look:

 

The pose that Ichiro has offered us is not a typical one for a posed baseball photo/portrait.

I also really like the work that the artist put into the background of the card.  There is a ton of detail put into the hundreds of people seated in the stands.  And the coloring of the sky is fantastic.

A true work of art!!  :)

Frank Robinson 2004 Fleer Greats

Frank Robinson 2004 Fleer Greats

It is not often that I see a card like this and it does not immediately make me jump into a minor rant about ‘little league poses’ on big league cards.

This card of Frank Robinson from the 2004 Fleer Greats set features a photo that gives us that kind of image.  It is a posed portrait of the Orioles and Reds legend, but it is also reminding me of another theme that I really like…

Have a look and then take a guess:

Any guesses??

It’s the ‘on-deck circle’ theme that I really enjoy.  And the way that Robinson is positioned, this one could pass for having the ‘on-deck’ theme alongside the ‘little league pose’ theme.

Either way, it is always a good day when you can add a new Frank Robinson card into your collection.

Gotta love the Black batting glove too!!

Mike Schmidt 1990 Topps ‘Turn Back The Clock’

Mike Schmidt 1990 Topps ‘Turn Back The Clock’

I always liked the old ‘TBTC’ subsets that Topps inserted into their base sets back in the 1980′s.  If I recall properly, the ‘TBTC’ set was only issued in the 86, 87, 88, 89, and 90 sets.  It is a tradition that I wish Topps continued – the cards offer great history, and it is always cool to see vintage cardboard being showcased.

This card of Mike Schmidt is from the 1990 set, and it goes back 10 seasons.  The cad highlights Schmidt’s 1980 Topps baseball card, a ’30-YOC’ favorite!!

Enjoy.

Happy Birthday Dwight Evans!!!

Happy Birthday Dwight Evans!!!

Dwight Evans turns 61 years old today.

Evans wore the Boston Red Sox uniform for 20 years!  And in that time, he became known as one of the sport’s greatest defensive outfielders of all-time.  The winner of 8 Gold Glove awards, ‘Dewey’ was a fan favorite due to his desire to stop the other team from collecting hits and runs.  A 3-time All-star, Evans was also known for his power at the plate.  During his career he crushed 385 home runs – good for 4th place in Red Sox history.

Happy Birthday Mr. Evans!!!

Baseball Card Show T-O-N-I-G-H-T!!!!

Baseball Card Show T-O-N-I-G-H-T!!!!

It is the first weekend of the month and down in South Florida that means that it is time for the monthly baseball card show in Dania.

Sadly, I have been a bit overwhelmed with house projects and Halloween parties over the last week so I haven’t had the time to really dig in and build a solid ‘Want List’ for the show.

So, I will be going to the show with no specific goals in mind.  I have done that in the past and have been successful with that approach.  Hopefully that string of luck continues because I am ready to shop, shop, shop!!!

And as usual, you will be able to see each and every purchase that I make.  I will post them all for you to view on Monday.

Have a great weekend everyone!!!