Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – 1985 Topps 120-Card Pete Rose Limited Edition Set!!! YES!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – 1985 Topps 120-Card Pete Rose Limited Edition Set!!!  YES!!!

This purchase was by far the best one of the night for me.

I have seen, and have wanted, this set for my ‘Big Red Machine’ collection for the last few years.  I have been watching them sell on Ebay for the last 2 years, and they sell in the range of $10-$20 depending on their condition.

I saw the box sitting on the table of the dealer that I always spend the most time with.  I asked if he knew if the set was complete or not, and he was unsure.  I opened the box and found quite a bit of room for the cards to move around so I was guessing that it was not complete.  Still, the set looked to be in great condition as all of the cards appeared to be crisp and clean.

I asked for the price and he told me to just take it.  I didn’t feel right in doing so, so I grabbed a few singles out of my pocket and forked over three of them.  He did not seem to care either way about getting money for the set, and I left with a very big smile on my face.

As soon as I got home, I opened the box and found the set to be complete!!  All 120 cards were present, and they all look G-R-E-A-T!!!

Here is the set:

Give me some time, I am going to throw this bad-boy into some 9-card pages and scan the full thing.  And when I do, I will show it off so you can see the complete set.

Best buy of the night?  Oh, Yeah!!

10 responses to “Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – 1985 Topps 120-Card Pete Rose Limited Edition Set!!! YES!!!

  1. I came across that set once in a collection I had bought. Definitely one of the cooler sets in my collection. Congrats on a great find.

  2. Never even knew these existed.

  3. Nice pick up….now the big question…was the autographed card in the set too??

  4. NICE!!! Always heard about these sets, but I’ve never seen one for sale!!

  5. Very cool. The set usually goes for 20-25 here in Cincinnati. I haven’t bought one yet, still looking for it in the “clearance” bins. I have a couple of singles from the set, but would like to buy the whole thing someday.

Leave a Reply

