Daily Archives: November 6, 2012

Jim Palmer 2005 Donruss Studio ‘Leaf Certified Materials’ – #13/30

Jim Palmer 2005 Donruss Studio ‘Leaf Certified Materials’  – #13/30

Oh, yeah – here is a pretty limited circulation card that I picked up of Jim Palmer.

The card comes from the 2005 Donruss Studio set, and while there are a ton of low-serial-numbered versions of the cards in this series, it always feels good when you can haul in one of them.

I have a bunch of these cards that feature Andre Dawson and Fergie Jenkins.  It was time to step up my Jim Palmer game, and with this acquisition, I have done just that.

Here is the card.  It is from the ‘Leaf Certified Materials’ part of the set, and is serial numbered as 13/30!!

YES!!

Alan Trammell 1987 Donruss Opening Day

Alan Trammell 1987 Donruss Opening Day

As a kid, collecting the ‘Opening Day’ set was a nice way to add more cards to your collection.  Whether you were a set builder, team collector, or player collector, these added sets were a nice way to get more than just the standard issue cards from that year.

The 1987 Donruss ‘Opening Day’ set is one that I recall fondly.  I had two full sets, 1 that I kept in tact and 1 that I split into teams and then organized by position.  It was F-U-N!!!

Here is the Alan Trammell card from that set:

As for Opening Day in 1987, Trammell and his Tigers teammates were hosting the New York Yankees at Tiger Stadium.  The Tigers would lose the game 2-1, and Trammell had a forgettable day going 0-for-4 with a strikeout.

The Tigers would have the last laugh in ’87 – a 1st place finish in the AL East!!

Sparky Anderson 2005 Upper Deck Classics

Sparky Anderson 2005 Upper Deck Classics

I am in a Cincinnati Reds frame of mind on this fine Tuesday morning!

And when I think of the Reds and ‘The Big Red Machine’, it is very hard to not think about their fearless leader, Hall of Famer Sparky Anderson.

I have added his 1959 Topps rookie card to my collection recently, and obtaining that card has given me a little bit of a push into trying to find more cards of him.

This is his card from the 2005 Upper Deck Classics set.

 

Ken Griffey Sr. ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1978 Topps

Ken Griffey Sr. ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1978 Topps

Now that my Ken Griffey Sr. player collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #4 – 1978 Topps

 

Jeez, what a smile!!!

And Griffey certainly had reason to smile - his team was one of the best, and he was a winner.  A 2-time winner actually, of the 1975 and 1976 World Series championships.

Griffey was a big reason for the team’s success too – a solid contact hitter with a knack for scoring runs and stealing bases!!  Call him the spark plug of the machine!!

So, The McCovey Collector And The Dawson Collector Work Out A Trade. And It Does Not Involve McCovey Or Dawson…

So, The McCovey Collector And The Dawson Collector Work Out A Trade. And It Does Not Involve McCovey Or Dawson…

Kind of funny how two collectors that have a strong focus on their player collections put this one together,  but both Adam and I are happy with the trade that we worked out.

Adam is one of the most serious player collectors that I know.  His obsession focuses on Willie McCovey, and the collection is insane.  I know what it is like to focus on a single player with the goal of obtaining a collection to be envied, and Adam has certainly done just that.  I am very jealous of what he has put together – and I make sure to visit his blog every Monday to see a new McCovey card unveiled on ‘McCovey Monday’.  If you have not done so, you should check out his blog.

OK, now on to the trade…

A little more than a month ago, I busted a few retail blasters of the new 2012 Topps Update product.  I had a bunch of inquiries about cards that I was not necessarily wanting for my personal collection, and I was able to pull out a pretty good stack for Adam.

So, off the cards went and he told me that he would try to send me some stuff that would fill a few holes is some of the player collections that I was working on.

And then the cards arrived!  8 of them, and they all filled holes in my player collection checklists.

Here they are:

3 Eric Davis cards:

3 Rollie Fingers cards:

2 Alan Trammell cards:

Thank you for the great trade Adam.  I hope to do it again soon!!