Daily Archives: November 10, 2012

Jim Palmer 2005 Upper Deck Heroes Of Baseball – I’m 2/5 Of The Way There…

Jim Palmer 2005 Upper Deck Heroes Of Baseball – I’m 2/5 Of The Way There…

I am a little surprised at how hard this set has been to put together.  Sure, I can overpay and get the set done in a few minutes time.  But, my preference has always been to wait it out and see what I can do affordably.  Thankfully, I have time on my side.

Still, the march towards this set is on and I recently got one step closer to the finish line when I scored this bad boy:

And now, I am 40% of the way there!!  :)

Ron Santo 2004 Fleer Greats

Ron Santo 2004 Fleer Greats

It has been almost two months since I last added a Ron Santo baseball card to my collection.  And that is not good…

I am hoping that when the new collecting year begins that the newly inducted Hall of Famer is included in some more releases.  I have yet to see any complete checklist for any of the new Topps product slated for 2013, but I am crossing my fingers that the name ‘Ron Santo’ is on a few of them.

Thankfully, there are still some modern issues of Santo that I need to grab.

And this card from the 2004 Fleer Greats set is no longer one of them!!

Have a look at this beauty:

Rollie Fingers 1986 Topps

Rollie Fingers 1986 Topps

It is kind of fun to see these exact cards in today’s releases.

As a matter of fact, I got the Archives version of this exact baseball card before hauling in the original for my Rollie Fingers player collection.

Sometimes a man’s got to do what a man’s go to do…  Just sayin’

1988 HEADLINE: Dodgers’ Orel Hershiser Wins Cy Young Award With Unanimous Vote

1988 HEADLINE: Dodgers’ Orel Hershiser Wins Cy Young Award With Unanimous Vote

On this date in 1988, Orel Hershiser captured the National League’s Cy Young award in a unanimous vote.

Taking all 24 first-place votes, this award capped an unbelievable season for the right-hander.

A close look at the numbers:

23-8 during the regular season with 15 complete games and 8 shutouts.  In 267 innings of work, Hershiser compiled a low ERA of just 2.25.  His dominant year led to another selection to the National League All-star team and his first Cy Young Award.  During the playoffs, Hershiser led the Dodgers to the World Series championship while winning both the NLCS and World Series MVP awards in the process!!

Happy Anniversary Mr. Hershiser!!!

UncleMoe Sends Over Some Great Cards!!!

UncleMoe Sends Over Some Great Cards!!!

One of the most loyal trade partners that I have had the pleasure of trading with over the years is UncleMoe.

We have an understanding – he gets my Diamondbacks and I get his Marlins.  The deal was never etched into stone, it has naturally progressed.  In addition to that, if I uncover any of the players that he collects while at my monthly card show, I grab them for him.  And he always returns the favor with cards of the guys that I collect.

It has been this way for the last few years, and is as close to having a ‘trading partner’ like I had when I was a kid.

The last package of cards from UncleMoe was again, AWESOME!!!

This time around, he sent me some new Marlins cards for my team collection, and some modern cards of the legends that I collect.

On to the bounty!!!

2 Gary Carter cards that I was missing:

A full page’s worth of Marlins:

And two very sweet Eddie Murray and Jim Palmer cards that I did not have:

Thank you Moe!!!  These are great additions to my collection.