Daily Archives: November 11, 2012

Fergie Jenkins 1982 O-Pee-Chee Baseball Card

Fergie Jenkins 1982 O-Pee-Chee Baseball Card

Being that Fergie Jenkins was born and raised in Canada, I have always thought that adding his O-Pee-Chee baseball cards to my collection was a necessary thing to do.

It’s just not that easy though.

So far, I have just three O-Pee-Chee cards of Jenkins in my collection.  They are much tougher to come by and when I do find them, they tend to carry a higher price tag than their Topps equivalent.

Well, I now have four O-Pee-Chee cards of Fergie in my collection.  I have scored his card from the 1982 set.  It is now the oldest OPC in my collection.

Have a look:

Nolan Ryan 2001 Topps Archives – A Great Card At A Great Price!!!

Nolan Ryan 2001 Topps Archives – A Great Card At A Great Price!!!

There are very few players that I will always buy when the price is right.  And on www.sportlots.com, that price could be as low as just eighteen cents.

The guys on that very short list are – Joe Morgan, Frank Robinson, Pete Rose, Reggie Jackson, Brooks Robinson, Eddie Murray, and Nolan Ryan are on that list.

And this sweet chunk of cardboard cost me just $0.18!!!!

Mike Schmidt 1980 Topps

Mike Schmidt 1980 Topps

There was no better player in the sport of baseball in 1980 than Michael Jack Schmidt.

Don’t believe me?  Just check out the numbers:

48 Home Runs (LL)
121 RBI (LL)
.624 Slugging % (LL)
1.004 OPS (LL)
171 OPS+ (LL)
342 Total Bases (LL)
13 Sacrifice Flies (LL)
All-Star
Gold Glove
Silver Slugger

It is very nice to have this card in my collection.

1981 HEADLINE: Fernando Valenzuela Becomes 1st Rookie To Capture Cy Young and ROY Awards!!!

1981 HEADLINE: Fernando Valenzuela Becomes 1st Rookie To Capture Cy Young and ROY Awards!!!

On this day in 1981, Fernando Valenzuela won the National League’s Cy Young Award.

The week prior, he was named as the Rookie Of The Year, becoming the first player in major league history to earn both the ROY and the Cy Young Award in the same season.

The numbers?  Let’s take a closer look, shall we??

13-7 record with 11 complete games and 8 shutouts.  180 strikeouts with just 61 walks and an ERA of 2.48.

Not too bad for a 20-year old hurler, huh??

Happy Anniversary Mr. Valenzuela!!!

2003 Topps Florida Marlins Team Set

2003 Topps Florida Marlins Team Set

The 2003 Topps Florida Marlins team set is a unique one.  And I believe that it has to do with the Royal Blue border of the card.  That and the player cameo that is cut in the shape of an infield diamond, and you have a card that reminds me quite a bit of the 1983 and 1984 Topps sets.

Have a look at the completed team set:

The 2003 team means a lot to me.  Yes, they won the World Series.  But, they also had a great group of personalities in both their veteran and rookie players.  From Lowell to Dontrelle to Beckett to JP to Penny to D-Lee – that team was so much fun to watch!!

GO FISH!!!