Daily Archives: November 12, 2012

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Triple Threads – Sepia

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Triple Threads – Sepia

I have finally scored another card of Andre Dawson from this year’s Triple Threads set.  This one is the ‘Sepia’ version and it is serial numbered as 294/625.

Have a peek:

 

And with this new edition, I am now up to three cards of ‘The Hawk’ from this set.

Just a few more to go…  LOL!!

Joe Morgan 2012 Topps Update – ‘Golden Greats’

Joe Morgan 2012 Topps Update – ‘Golden Greats’

I really like Joe Morgan.  He is one of the most well-rounded offensive talents from the 1970’s and many of the numbers that he put up were unheard of for a second baseman. 

I firmly believe that even with his 2 MVP Awards and Hall of Fame election that Morgan is very underappreciated.  So, I was very excited to see that he was included in Topps’ Golden Greats subset.

I was even more excited to pull this card from a pack!!!

 

 

The card honors a game played on July 1, 1975 in which Morgan hit a walk-off single in the bottom of the 15th inning to secure a win over the Houston Astros.

Atta Boy Joe!!!

Frank Robinson 2012 Topps Update – 1987 Mini

Frank Robinson 2012 Topps Update – 1987 Mini

Man, the more that I see of these 1987 minis from the 2012 Topps set, the more I like them.

I have scooped up a few of them for my player collections and have pulled a few more from the retail blasters that I have opened.  And I find all of the impressive.

But, as usual, the ones that I like the most are the ones that feature the legends of the game.  If the whole set was just baseball legends, I would surely work to collect the full checklist.  Instead, I pick and choose which ones I prefer.

And this time, I scored the Frank Robinson card.  And it is sharp!!

Have a look:

I told you!!  I love the old Orioles logo in the upper-left corner of the card.  And while Robinson obviously has his back to the camera during his follow-through, I have to imagine that he took a mighty swing here!!

Enjoy.

Eric Davis 1987 Topps Glossy All-Star

Eric Davis 1987 Topps Glossy All-Star

It didn’t take long for Eric Davis to make his impression on the sport.  As a rookie in 1985, Davis showed flashes of what was to come.

And by 1987, he was one the most well-rounded offensive talents in the sport.  He was selected to his first All-Star team in 1987, and that meant that he would be included in Topps’ rack-pack-only Glossy All-Star set.

And now, that card is in my Eric Davis player collection – YES!!

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten Most Wanted Baseball Cards For The 30-YOC Collection

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten Most Wanted Baseball Cards For The 30-YOC Collection

This blog post is long overdue.  And trust me when I say that it took me some time to cut the list down to ten as there are surely more than ten pieces of cardboard that I would really like to add to my collection.

This specific question has been presented to me a lot lately, so I finally got to work in building this list.

I gave myself just one rule to follow when I started – the cards had to be somewhat ‘obtainable’.  Yes, we’d all like to have a real Honus Wagner or Ty Cobb or 1951 Mickey Mantle to call our own, but I wanted to keep this list realistic.

And after finally crafting the list and narrowing it down to just ten cards, I do believe that in time I will own all ten.

There is no ‘Honorable Mention’ on this list – Straight to the ten!!!

10 – 1984 Topps Don Mattingly rookie card

9 – 1990 Topps Glossy TV Andre Dawson

8 – 1989 Fleer Billy Ripken ‘F&CK FACE’ card

7 – 1960 Topps George ‘Sparky’ Anderson

6 – 2001 Topps Fergie Jenkins Certified Autograph Issue – 1966 Design

5 – 1992 Bowman Mariano Rivera rookie card

4 – 1989 Upper Deck Ken Griffey Jr. rookie card

3 – 1991 Donruss Elite Andre Dawson, serial numbered to 10,000

2 – 2008 Upper Deck Heroes Ernie Banks Purple, serial numbered to 25.  I have never seen this card, hence the image of Banks’ base card from the set

1 – 1968 Topps ‘Bird Bashers’ with Frank Robinson & Brooks Robinson

And there you have it, the ten cards that I would love to add, and will someday add, to my collection.

You probably did not expect to see some of these cards land on my list.  But that is the fun about collecting.

As for that ’68 Topps card of Frank and Brooks, I remember loving that card as a kid.  To me, it was majestic.  And I have not seen one in person in over twenty years.  It is amazing how this sport and hobby can so quickly take us back in time.  Baseball cards are just like time capsules!!

What about you?  I’m sure that you have some kind of list going – whether written or mental.  What’s on it?  I’d love to know!!!

Have a great night!!!