Daily Archives: November 23, 2012

2001 Fleer Triple Crown Florida Marlins Team Set

2001 Fleer Triple Crown Florida Marlins Team Set

I tell you what, I had never seen this issue of cards before, but they are NICE!!!

Issued in 2001 by Fleer, under the name of ‘Triple Crown’, the set offers up some fantastic action photography.

And even while the team set is just 8 cards deep, I like all of the action that was captured for this release.

Have a look at the full set:

And yes, that is catcher Mike Redmond making an appearance.  He’s the new skipper of the Miami version of the team…

GO FISH!!!

Derek Jeter 2012 Topps Update American League All-Star

Derek Jeter 2012 Topps Update American League All-Star

Derek Jeter made his 13th All-Star team during the 2012 baseball season.  It is nice to have a card that celebrates that moment.

And if his fantastic season of 2012 is any indication, he will have a card in the 2013 Topps Update set that commemorates his 14 selection to the ‘Mid-Summer Classic’.

Rollie Fingers 1982 Fleer – Does This Qualify As A ‘Batting Cage Card’??

Rollie Fingers 1982 Fleer – Does This Qualify As A ‘Batting Cage Card’??

You guys know me.  And you know my affinity for themed baseball pictures.  And among my favorite themes for images used on baseball cards is the ‘batting cage card’.

But can a pitcher bet featured on such a card?

Yes, it can happen.

But does it qualify?

Have a look at this card of Rollie Fingers from the 1982 Fleer set:

And now give me your feedback!!

Thanks.

Happy Birthday Luis Tiant!!!!

Happy Birthday Luis Tiant!!!!

Luis Tiant turns 72 years old today.

Luis Tiant posted a very successful 19-year pitching career.  During his playing days, Tiant had (4) 20+ win seasons.  And with a career record of 229-172 with an ERA of just 3.30, Tiant was a well-deserving 3-time All-star and 4-time Top 6 finisher for the Cy Young award.

Tiant’s character was polarizing – his pitching mechanics were full of personality and his love for the game was unquestionable.

I wish that they made more baseball players like ‘El Tiante’!!!

Happy Birthday Mr. Tiant!!!

TTM Success: Hall Of Fame Manager, Mr. Earl Weaver!!!

TTM Success: Hall Of Fame Manager, Mr. Earl Weaver!!!

As it relates to the hobby, there is no easier autograph to obtain than one in which they are offered in exchange for a donation to a charity.  The player’s connection to the charity is not only good for publicity, but it has monetary benefits too.

I have sent out a lot of autographs over the last few years with donations enclosed.  It ensures that the autograph will be had, and it is also nice to contribute to worthwhile causes.

Earl Weaver is linked to the Miami Children’s Hospital and he signs for a fee through their foundation.  I was born in Miami, and had lived in South Florida for more than 30 years of my life.  I do what I can to support anything that the community has going on.  And if that includes an option to nab a Hall of Famer’s autograph for my collection, I am in!!

And it took just over a month for the ball to be returned to me.

Here is the prize:

Looks great, huh??  I am getting very close to having 100 signed balls in my collection.

Thank you Mr. Weaver.  And, thank you to the Miami Children’s Hospital Foundation!!