Daily Archives: November 27, 2012

Florida Marlins 2011 Topps Team Set

Florida Marlins 2011 Topps Team Set

As I continue to build my Marlins team set collection, I am often reminded of how talented some of their former rosters have been.

Sadly, each next year’s team set brings about a lot of discarded and new faces.  If this team built from within and held on to players as they reached their prime, they would be in a much better position than what they are today.

Still, I am loyal to the team.  And I enjoy going back and remembering the history of this still relatively young franchise.

Here is the complete 2011 Topps team set:

The set is nice, and I like the Teal player banners that Topps used for this design.  The team logo at the end of the banner is a nice punctuation mark for the design too.

As for promise, I will always wonder ‘what if’ Gaby Sanchez continued to mature as a player.  And ‘what if’ they had not drafted Chris Volstad and gone in another direction in the draft that year.  And ‘what if’ Chris Coghlan never got hurt.

Ughhh….

Brooks Robinson 2001 Topps Gallery – FAIL!!!

Brooks Robinson 2001 Topps Gallery

I bought this card ‘on the blind’ for eighteen cents on www.sportlots.com.

It is not my first card from the 2001 Topps Gallery set.  I have cards of Fergie Jenkins and Jim Palmer and Reggie Jackson from this set.  And I am happy with all of them.

For this card, I was expecting a shot of Brooks at the plate or making a play at third base.

Sadly, I did not get that.  I got this:

FAIL!!!

1982 Fleer NL All-Stars with Gary Carter & Dave Parker

1982 Fleer NL All-Stars with Gary Carter & Dave Parker

Dave Parker was one of the most feared sluggers from his era.  His ability to end games with one single swing put him in a rare status of player.

Add to that the fact that Parker was physically imposing at 6 feet and 5 inches tall and weighing 230 pounds, you had a very intimidating player.

What I find interesting about Parker’s cards as I build a collection of all of his major-brand cards from his days with the Pirates is that he is often featured sporting a huge smile.

Maybe he wanted to come across as a teddy-bear, or maybe he was simply a very fun-loving player.

Either way, this card from the 1982 Fleer set features him and another famously smiling player.  And it is great!!!

Happy Birthday Ivan ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez!!!

Happy Birthday Ivan ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez!!!

Pudge Rodriguez turns 41 years old today.

Still a favorite of all Florida Marlins fans, Pudge Rodriguez should go down as one of the greatest players from his era!!

With a resume that includes 1 Most Valuable Player Award, 7 Silver Slugger awards, 13 Gold Gloves, and 14 All-star games, one has to wonder where Pudge ranks in the conversation about the game’s greatest catchers.

By the end of his playing days in the big leagues, Rodriguez has tallied 2,844 hits, 1,354 runs scored, 311 home runs, 1,332 RBI, and he even has 127 stolen bases to his credit.

It seems like his election into baseball’s Hall of Fame is inevitable.  One thing is for certain:  He has my vote!!!

Happy Birthday Pudge!!!

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps ‘Award Winners’ Golden Ring Collection

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps ‘Award Winners’ Golden Ring Collection

I am really happy that I was able to be patient when it came to the purchase of this baseball card.  When first released, these cards were easily fetching $10+.  Today, if you shop wisely, you can pick one up for less than $5.00.

Again, my patience pays off!!!

The card is about as thick as any baseball card that I own.  And I believe it is the heaviest card I have too.

The chunk of metal that has been formed into a ‘Ring’ looks great and is very detailed.  I like that Topps chose to honor Andre’s 1977 Rookie of the Year Award with this card as the Expos colors look great against the color scheme of the set.

If you have not seen one of these in person, you should try to find one.  They are very appealing and I am not sure that the scan properly represents that fact.

A fantastic addition to my Andre Dawson collection!!  For Sure!!