Daily Archives: November 28, 2012

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Donruss Throwback Threads – ‘Throwback Collection’

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Donruss Throwback Threads – ‘Throwback Collection’

I’m going a little out of my comfort zone with cards of Fergie in his Rangers uniform, but a player collector has to do what a player collector has to do.  You know what I’m sayin??

Anyways, this card is from the 2005 Donruss Throwback Threads set tagged as ‘Throwback Collection’.

And the image used of Fergie for this card can be found on many of the modern cards that feature Fergie in his Rangers uniform.

And in time, I plan on nabbing all of them!!

Wish me luck.

Jim Abbott ‘Fab Five’ – Card #3 – 1992 Topps Stadium Club

Jim Abbott ‘Fab Five’ – Card #3 – 1992 Topps Stadium Club

Now that my Jim Abbott player collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #3 – 1992 Topps Stadium Club

Abbott’s 1991 Topps Stadium Club card was number four on my list.  And now his card from the 1992 set finds a home on the list too.

The sam can be said about the 1992 that I stated about the 1991 card.  I just like this image a little bit better!!

Rollie Fingers 1983 Donruss – Best Facial Hair In MLB History!!

Rollie Fingers 1983 Donruss

I recently watched a special on the MLB Network that showcased the greatest facial hair in the history of major league baseball.

The list was super!!  It was fun to watch clips from the 1970s and 1980s, and there was a handful of modern players included as well.

It should not be surprising that Rollie Fingers finished in 1st place on the list…

Did You Know…

Rusty Staub collected more than 500 hits with four different teams.

The numbers:
792 – Houston Colt .45s
531 – Montreal Expos
709 – New York Mets
582 – Detroit Tigers

Jim Abbott ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1991 Topps Stadium Club

Jim Abbott ‘Fab Five’ – Card #4 – 1991 Topps Stadium Club

Now that my Jim Abbott player collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #4 – 1991 Topps Stadium Club

The Stadium Club set was created to do direct competition with Upper Deck.  Topps did a fantastic job of upgrading their photo quality, cardstock, and glossy finish with their Stadium Club brand.

And if you peeled off the logo and lettering on these cards, you would have a perfect picture!!

Enjoy.