Rollie Fingers 1972 Topps – An Interesting Team Banner On This One!!!

Rollie Fingers 1972 Topps

As it stands, this baseball card from the 1972 Topps set is the oldest card in my Rollie Fingers collection.

And for a card that is now 41 years old, this card is in unbelievable condition.  I hope I look this good when I turn 41!!!

Have a look:

What I find most interesting about this card is that Topps went with “A’s” for the team name instead of “Athletics”.  This is quite unusual, at least in my opinion…

I just checked some other cards from the set on Ebay and the Orioles cards say “Orioles” instead of “O’s” and the Yankees cards say “Yankees” instead of “Yanks”.

Maybe it had to do with the team name being so long??  Athletics has nine characters in it.  But so does “White Sox” and those cards appear to look fine with all 9 characters fitting well.

Hmmmm….

5 responses to “Rollie Fingers 1972 Topps – An Interesting Team Banner On This One!!!

  1. That is strange. I expected the Cardinals to say Cards, at least, but even that was not the case.

    It is funny that you posted this card when you did. I just posted his ’73 Topps, and I mentioned that Rollie did not have his handlebar (though he did have a ‘stache). I knew he was without facial hair on his ’71 Topps and I was wondering if he had any in ’72. Now I know. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Back in the Charles O. Finley days, the team itself didn’t call themselves the Athletics, they called themselves the A’s. I don’t know for sure, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if the official team name was A’s.

  3. You should see the 2013 Topps 72 Minis Trevor Bauer card- Diamonbacks is in a really small letters! Has anyone seen if they use Athletics instead of A’s for the 72 minis?

Leave a Reply

