It Is Not His Fault, But Willie McCovey’s 1960 Topps Rookie Card Is Far From Fantastic…

It Is Not His Fault, But Willie McCovey’s 1960 Topps Rookie Card Is Far From Fantastic…

I love vintage baseball cards.  I appreciate vintage baseball cards.

I just wish that this was a better example of a vintage baseball card that I like…

And while I would never say ‘No’ to adding a rookie card of Mr. McCovey into my collection, it would definitely not qualify as one of the better looking cards from the 60’s in my collection.

It’s not his fault though…  Topps just didn’t provide us with the best design or quality – that’s all.

The picture was obviously taken during Spring Training, and those empty bleachers don’t help the background.  As for the Green and Yellow that overwhelm the right-side of the card, it is just a bit too bold and loud for me.  The All-Star trophy helps calm it down – but just not enough to win this collector over…

Still, I wouldn’t say ‘No’ to adding one to my collection if presented with a supreme offer!!

Leave a Reply

