Mike Schmidt 1990 Upper Deck ‘Mike Schmidt Retires’

Mike Schmidt 1990 Upper Deck ‘Mike Schmidt Retires’

You know me.  I am a guy that loves the commemorative baseball card.

And I cannot think of a better looking career commemorative card than this one that celebrates the career of Michael Jack Schmidt.

The card comes from the 1990 Upper Deck set.

Have a look:

This card makes a great addition to the collection of cards that I am working on that honors Schmidt’s career.

I only wish that Upper Deck issued more of these kinds of cards.  Like of Andre Dawson, Dave Winfield, Rickey Henderson, to name a few…

4 responses to “Mike Schmidt 1990 Upper Deck ‘Mike Schmidt Retires’

  1. Rickey never officially retired. What would be nice if there were more final cards like a Topps 2002 Cal Ripken or 2004 Topps Rickey Henderson.

  2. Anthony O'Neill

    Yeah this was a neat card when it came out. I believe UD had a card of similar style when Winfield reached 400hr’s and one of Rickey stealing, with art by Vernon Wells Sr (yes, father of THAT Vernon Wells). I’m sure I have them’ I’ll dig around.

Leave a Reply

