’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten Rookie Cards From The ‘Fleer Update’ Mid-Season Sets!!!

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten Rookie Cards From The ‘Fleer Update’ Mid-Season Sets!!!

Just like I did with the Topps Traded and Donruss ‘The Rookies’ mid-season releases, I feel that it is fitting to follow suit with the Fleer Update set as well.

So, I will rank the Top Ten Rookie cards issued as part of these 132-card rookie-filled, factory-sealed, beauties.

Keep in mind that I am only going after cards in which the Fleer Update card was considered the player’s rookie card with the Fleer brand; it just happened to be issued in the ‘Update’ set versus the base set.

OK?

OK!

These sets were released from 1984-1992 and they host some big-time treasures!!  Let’s get right down to it!!!

Honorable Mention – Bret Saberhagen (84), Vince Coleman (85), Will Clark (86), Ruben Sierra (86), Mike Greenwell (87), Fred McGriff (87), Matt Williams (87), John Smoltz (88), Jim Abbott (89), Joey Belle (89), Deion Sanders (89), Tino Martinez (90), John Olerud (90), Bernie Williams (91).

10 – Jeff Bagwell, 1991

UPDATE 10

9 – Jeff Kent, 1992

UPDATE 9

8 – Frank Thomas, 1990

UPDATE 8

7 – Roberto Alomar, 1988

UPDATE 7

6 – Barry Bonds, 1986

UPDATE 6

5 – Dwight Gooden, 1984

UPDATE 5

4 – Greg Maddux, 1987

UPDATE 4

3 – Mike Piazza, 1992

UPDATE 3

2 – Roger Clemens, 1984

UPDATE 2

1 – Kirby Puckett, 1984

UPDATE 1

Let me tell you that creating this list was mentally exhausting!!

While the top two spots for me were ‘no brainers’, spots 3,4, and 5 shifted around often.  Ultimately, I settled in with Piazza being a lock at number 3, and Maddux & Gooden sharing the 4th spot.  I ultimately gave it to Maddux, but would not complain if Gooden was there and Maddux shifted down to five, or even six.

And the final 2-3 spots were pretty brutal too – some of those guys could have been left off in favor of some that were mentioned in the honorable mention section.  Ultimately, I took the guys who would still be deemed as ‘collectible’ today by your average collector.

So, how did I do?  Love my rankings?  Hate my rankings?

Let me hear it!!!  And have a great night!!

10 responses to “’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten Rookie Cards From The ‘Fleer Update’ Mid-Season Sets!!!

  1. I think you are dead on!

  2. I am sure I am biased but I can’t see how Will the Thrill only gets an honorable mention. Otherwise it is hard to argue. That 1984 set is a beast!

    • Adam- You’re definitely biased, and that is OK! From my perspective, Clark’s 86 Topps Traded and Donruss ‘The Rookies’ cards were the ones to gather up when they came out. Of the three, I would say that Fleer was the least sought after… B

  3. That Puckett is sweet! Great list.

  4. I’m not sure how you were able to narrow down your list! This is really, really difficult, but here’s how mine would go.
    1. Mcgee, 2. Puckett, 3. Eric Davis, 4. Gwynn, 5. Ripken, 6. Bo Jackson, 7. Sandberg, 8. Gooden, 9. Strawberry 10. Ken Griffey Jr
    Mentions: Mattingly, Raines, Boggs, Larkin, Maddox, Lee Smith, Will Clark, Smoltz, Gant, Glavine & Van Slyke
    Basically All Of My Favorite Players!

    • You do realize that 17 of the players on your list did not have Fleer Update cards right? lol But I do like your list of favorite players though :) Especially nice to another Ronnie Gant fan out there too.

  5. It the yellow borders weren’t so horrific I’d say Bagwell should be higher.
    Rumor has it that millions of yellow ’91 Fleer have been recycled into those yellow caution signs that get put out on wet floors.

Leave a Reply

