1975 Topps – 1974 World Series Game 3 Highlights Starring Rollie Fingers

1975 Topps – 1974 World Series Game 3 Highlights Starring Rollie Fingers

Rollie Fingers closed the door on the Los Angeles Dodgers in Game 3 of the 1974 World Series.

And while he allowed one run in his 1.2 inning performance, it was enough to capture the win and give the Oakland Athletics a 3-2 victory, and a 2-1 lead in the Fall Classic of 1974.

Rollie’s stat line looked like this – 6 batters faced, 2 hits allowed, 1 run given up, and 1 strikeout.

This card, from the 1975 Topps set, does a nice job commemorating that night of October 15, 1974.

FINGERS 1

A very nice addition to my Rollie Fingers player collection!

4 responses to “1975 Topps – 1974 World Series Game 3 Highlights Starring Rollie Fingers

  1. Agreed, a very nice job. From the scan, it appears Rollie’s jersey and socks color nearly matches that of the yellow border.

    Phenomenal card of one of my favorite players of the past and one I look forward to adding to my new goal of ’75 being my vintage set build for 2013!

    • Underdog- you’re going after the 75 Topps set? I’ve had similar thoughts…

      • 30-Year, I’m all in this year for 2013. As I’ve shared with you, I’m back collecting after a very long hiatus. With that, I’ve named a few goals for my first year back. My vintage set goal, that I actually started last year, was 1977. I completed that set right around the new year. The vintage sets that were strong contenders for me were ’71, ’72, and ’75. I scratched ’71 based on the significant jump in $ I believe it will take, but I have to go for it sooner or later! The toss up then became between ’72 and ’75. I simply arbitrarily went with ’75 based on it’s simple elegance. I have a feeling ’72 will be next.

        I say go for it! Yes, you in? ; )

      • Underdog- I am on the fence. And it sways back and forth all day long…

Leave a Reply

