Hank Aaron 2000 Topps ‘Opening Day’ – Does Anyone Know More About This Card???

Hank Aaron 2000 Topps ‘Opening Day’

I picked up this card for fifty cents a few weeks ago.  I was immediately drawn to the card as it is a re-print of Aaron’s 1954 Topps rookie baseball card.

The card was released in 2000, and is part of Topps’ “Opening Day” set.

Have a look:

VINTAGE HANK AARON 2000 OD

And now my question: Why was Hank Aaron put into a set like this?  Opening Day sets have always featured the starting line-up of teams from that season.  Aaron retired 25 years before this card was released…

I’m really stumped with this one, and would love any insight or info that the great readers of this blog may have.

Please help!

Thank you.

10 responses to “Hank Aaron 2000 Topps ‘Opening Day’ – Does Anyone Know More About This Card???

  1. It is part of the regular set and was originally intended to be card #110, but instead, carries it’s original number from 1954, #128. Card is worth about $2.00. Hope this helps :),

  2. 2000 was the year that Topps reprinted Hank Aaron cards for it’s base set just like it had done Nolan Ryan in 1999, Roberto Clemente in 1998, Willie Mays in 1997 and Mickey Mantle in 1996. I guess they felt the need to put Hammerin’ Hank in the Opening Day set that year.

    • Ryan- thanks for the response. I am actively collecting both the Aaron and Ryan commemorative sets.

      I didn’t know that others had been honored like that as well…

      Hank Aaron being in the Opening Day set still remains a mystery!!

      • I think its just Topps being Topps! BTW, I do have a bunch of the Nolan Ryan reprints and maybe a couple Aarons. I also have some of the Mays reprints as well as the Mantles if you would be interested in those. I can get you a list if you want. LMK

      • Ryan- Topps being Topps; I like that!!

        I would definitely be interested in knowing what you have available for the Aaron and Ryan sets. Let me know when you have time.

        Thanks.

  3. “Opening Day sets have always featured the starting line-up of teams from that season.”

    I wish that’s the way it was done. That’s how Donruss did it in 1987, and it was brilliant. Topps has never followed that formula, and I’m not sure what their rationale is for their Opening Day set other than a cheaper alternative to the regular base set.

Leave a Reply

