100 BALLS!!!!

100 BALLS!!!!

This post has been 4 1/2 years in the making.

When I started ’30-Year Old Cardboard’ in the summer of 2008, I had one signed baseball in my collection – a Billy Williams ball that I got signed in the in 1989 while living in Chicago and attending a Cubs Convention with my dad.  Mr. Williams was so friendly towards me; both my dad and I became instant fans!!  I lugged that ball from state to state and from house to house for more than twenty years.

And once I decided to get back into the hobby of baseball card collecting, I dusted off my Billy Williams ball, bought a new UV-protected case for it, and kept it on my desk for inspiration.

Fast forward to today and I am happy to be celebrating that I now have 100 autographed baseballs in my collection.  The collection, just like my cards, is focused around men that helped shape the history of the game in prior decades as well as the players that impacted my love for the sport during my youth.

I’ve got Marlins.  I’ve got All-Stars.  I’ve got Cy Young Award winners and MVPs.  I’ve got World Series heroes and I have Hall of Famers.

I have signed balls in my collection that I never really thought that I would obtain.  And, of course, I have some balls in my collection that I wish I never did obtain.

But, I tell you what – I love this collection.  And for as much as my Hank Aaron and Reggie Jackson and Willie Mays signed balls mean to me, the single best ball in my collection is still that old National League ball signed by Hall Of Famer, Billy Williams.

Here is a look at my full collection of signed baseballs:

100 BALLS

And a peek at the gem of my collection, my Billy Williams ball:

BILLY WILLIAMS BALL

I already have plans in place to add more baseballs to my collection.  And while I don’t have a target number of balls that I want for this extension of my baseball card collecting hobby, I am pretty confident that the collection will continue to blossom in the coming years!

Thanks for reading.

25 responses to “100 BALLS!!!!

  1. Congrats!! That’s an awesome collection.

  2. Just out of curiosity, who are the balls you wish you had not gotten? If you don’t mind sharing.

  3. That is very cool, Brian!

  4. Jeff Sherbondy

    Very nice collection Brian !!!

  5. Congrats on the milestone!

  6. Those are some nice balls ya got there, sir.

    Ahem.

  7. That’s awesome! I started collecting them a few years ago, but backed off because I didn’t have enough room to display/store them. Here’s to the next 100!

  8. Anthony O'Neill

    Congrats Brian!! I’m a bit “behind” you, I think I have “only” 50 or so. Great collection and certainly one to be proud of.

  9. Wow Brian, congrats on the awesome accomplishment! I look forward to seeing all of the future balls to come in your collection!

  10. Awesome collection. Who’s next, Willie McGee?

  11. Great milestone! I have been away from your blog for a bit, but I was following you a few years ago when I believe you had received #20 in the mail. Glad to be back.

    FYI 3 Time world series champion pitcher and former manager Roger Craig is signing at a card show near me in Michigan this month at Gibralter Trade Center. I am thinking of heading over there. Let me know if you have any interest. I think you can actually pre-order on their website.

    Anyhow, good to be back reading your stuff!

Leave a Reply

