WHITE WHALE RESCUED!!! I Have Finally Landed An Andre Dawson 1991 Donruss Elite Baseball Card!!!

WHITE WHALE RESCUED!!!  I Have Finally Landed An Andre Dawson 1991 Donruss Elite Baseball Card!!!

I have been seeking this specific baseball card for years.  And if I had to make a list of the most wanted baseball cards I’d like to add to my Andre Dawson baseball card collection, this card would have been in the top spot, every single time.

But finally, the wait is over.

I have secured a rare beauty.  And as always, I did it my way – with patience and on a budget.

The card is a 1991 Donruss Elite baseball card.  These cards were limited to 10,000 copies each and they are serial numbered as such.  The cards were randomly inserted into both Series 1 and Series 2 wax packs of 1991 Donruss baseball cards.  For the 1991 set, there were 10 cards total, 8 base cards and even more limited edition cards of Nolan Ryan and Ryne Sandberg.

According to Beckett Media, the 1991 Donruss Elite baseball card set was the first set to ever print serial numbers on the actual cards.  This helped confirm the print run for the first time in hobby history.

Here is the card:

DAWSON 1991 DONRUSS ELITE FRONT

DAWSON 1991 DONRUSS ELITE BACK

As a kid, I never knew that these existed – If I had, I probably would have gone after more 1991 Donruss wax.

Today, these cards are still very highly collectible.  I am very, very happy to have finally got mine!!!

14 responses to “WHITE WHALE RESCUED!!! I Have Finally Landed An Andre Dawson 1991 Donruss Elite Baseball Card!!!

  1. Jeff Sherbondy

    Back in 91 I pulled the Barry Bonds elite card I actually sold it for 125.00 then. I looked it up recently on eBay for around the same price…

    It was a fun card to pull though I was 11 at the time.

  2. I did buy a ton of 1991 Donruss hoping I would pull the Dawson. I never pulled a single Elite card. I bought mine about 10 years ago on eBay. The fact that there are 10,000 copies and these cards are so scarce must mean that there are are about 100,000 cases of 1991 Donruss lying around.

  3. Congrats, my favorite hawk card! U got a low #, I think mine is in 7000 something. I would like to get #8 of course.

  4. hA! congrats! yeh, you think of 10,000 of not being that scarce, but considering the 80′s and 90′s they made about a quadzillion of cards and that now many ppl have just trashed them, I’m sure it was kinda hard to find. So, now that you have it, are you going to continue the search the the #1 in that set?

  5. Excellent purchase! Really wanted to pull a Rickey Elite card when I was a kid.

  6. Just be happy you missed out on spending money on 1991 Donruss.

Leave a Reply

