Hall Of Fame Debate: Luis Aparicio VS Pee Wee Reese VS Dave Concepcion

Hall Of Fame Debate: Luis Aparicio VS Pee Wee Reese VS Dave Concepcion

I am without a doubt a Miami Marlins fan.

But when it comes to the history of the game, the Marlins barely scratch the surface of what has occured in the history of this fine sport.

And when it comes to baseball history, my favorite dynasty is ‘The Big Red Machine’.  The offense that this team was able to deliver was superb and without a chink in their armor – from power to finese to speed and to luck, they had it all.

That team was front-loaded with mega-talent – Hall Of Famers at C, 1B, 2B, and 3B.  But, they also featured some extremely talented players around them – Ken Griffey Sr., George Foster, and Dave Concepcion.  These three guys all played major roles in the success of the Reds during the mid-1970’s; and it is possible that without them, the team would not have succeeded as they did.

For this week’s ‘Hall Of Fame Debate’, I would like to take a closer look at the career of the shortstop from this squad, Dave Concepion.

And I will compare him to a few Hall of Fame shortstops so we can see how he stacks up…

Sound good?  Great.  On to the numbers!!!

  Concepcion Aparicio Reese
Seasons 19 18 16
Games 2,488 2,599 2,166
Batting Average 0.267 0.262 0.269
On-Base 0.322 0.311 0.366
Hits 2,326 2,677 2,170
200-Hit Seasons 0 0 0
150-199 Hit Seasons 7 9 5
Doubles 389 394 330
Triples 48 92 80
Home Runs 101 83 126
Runs Scored 993 1,335 1,338
RBI 950 791 885
Stolen Bases 321 506 232
All-Star 9 10 10
ROY - 1 -
MVP - - -
Gold Glove 5 8 n/a
Silver Slugger 2 n/a n/a
Postseasons 5 2 7
WS Titles 2 1 1

*

First, let me state that I know that these three players starred during different eras.  And yes, I also know that Reese missed out on a few seasons while serving in the army.

But, what I am trying to do with this post is shed some light on the career of Dave Concepcion and how he played a significant role for the Reds.  His numbers, or at least many of his numbers, are on par with other Hall Of Fame shortstops.

For me, the fact that Concepcion was able to amass these kinds of numbers while being the 5th or 6th best offensive player on the time is unheard of.  Reese was not a comlementary piece, he was a captain.  And the same goes for Aparicio – he was one of the top two talents on his famous Orioles and White Sox teams.

Reese.Aparicio.Concepcion

So, my question for this week’s ‘Hall Of Fame Debates’ is this – Does Dave Concepcion deserve to be mentioned in the same conversation as Luis Aparicio and Pee Wee Reese and if Dave Concepcion was the #1 or #2 guy on the same teams that these two players starred on, do you think that he would be enshrined in Cooperstown.

And since I like to take part in the ‘HOF Debate’, I will cast my vote.

It goes like this:
*Dave Concepcion absolutely deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as these two players.  He was not as dominant as Aparicio when it comes to how Luis was tagged as ‘the best bas stealer’ for a full decade, but when looking at their careers for both individual and team accomplishments, I think that the arguement is strong that he in on par.
* Yes, I feel that if Concepcion had been putting up these numbers on a team that did not boast 4 Hall Of Fame talents, his light would have shined brighter and he would have his bust in bronze at Cooperstown.

Now, it is your turn.  Give me your thoughts, and ‘Thanks’ for reading!!

17 responses to “Hall Of Fame Debate: Luis Aparicio VS Pee Wee Reese VS Dave Concepcion

  1. Even though I recently just finished pulling all my Concepion cards to put into a binder as he definitely was a star, I never have thought of him as being a HOF candidate. Maybe I am being a bit biased as Aparacio was one of the first players who’s card collections I completed as a kid and he stole bases like i used to, so therefore, he always ranked high on my list of favorite players. The problem with Concepcion as with many other recently retired players in the past 20 years, is that there are so many deserving of enshrinement that have not yet made it in. So, not only do you have to compare his stats with others of his position, you also have to compare him with all of the other eligible players not yet voted in. Unfair perhaps, but the voters do not vote on a player to be enshrined for each position, but only on who was the most popular, and therefore receives the most votes to get voted in. Personally, I would like to see him voted in but I do not think it is a realistic possibility. At least not until the voting system is changed. Just my two cents worth.

    Thanks for the debate Brian. great job as always.

    • Ron-
      I have to wonder what kind of player Concepion would have been had he not been a part of teh Reds. Would he have been as great, or did the Reds make him that great? It’s a hell of an arguement in both directions; just not sure which way I would lean…

      As always, thanks for participating!

      • Ron Churchwell

        I would have to say not as good. Certainly fewer runs scored and RBI’s for sure, And he did only hit .267 for a career

      • Ron- You’re probably right, but I think that he may have had a chance to get different opportunities in the batting order as well. And his On-Base percentage, for his era, is good.

  2. I don’t consider any of these guys HOF’ers, but if I had to choose one, Id pick Luis Aparicio. He won the ROY! His overall numbers are just a bit more aggressive.
    I gotta say though, I really like looking back at Concepion’s career. Someone asked me a couple months back who I thought were the best SS ever. I actually mentioned Concepion being one of the best.
    Nice topic Brian!

    • McGee-Fan51, I think he would get a lot of consideration, but I am not certain he cracks the ‘Top Ten’. Of the top of my head you have Jeter, Ripken, Larkin, Banks, Aparicio, Ozzie, Trammell, Reese, and some guy named Honus Wagner. And then we have a lot of players that played SS at some point but then shifted to other roles like A-Rod and Robin Yount. I would say he lands between 13-18.

  3. Concepcion definitely belongs in the Hall. Was there a better SS in his era?

  4. Ron Churchwell

    Ripken was the better SS in the 2nd half of Concepcion’s career. But during the 70’s he was the best.

  5. Concepcion had a really good career but I don’t think he is a HOF’er. He’s on the same level (maybe a tad higher) as Bert Campaneris and he didn’t make it into the HOF. He got lost in the shuffle because of the good crop shortstops of the 1980’s (Ripken, Smith, Trammell, Fernandez and the HOF’er who replaced him Barry Larkin.).

    • Matt- Campaneris is a good one to compare him to, though I think that Concepcion showed more baseball skills. Again, it could have been his environment, but the teams that Campy played for in the early 70’s were extremely successful too.

  6. You had sort of this talk a while back, and I said that if Reese and Aparicio are in, Concepcion should be in as well. Thanks for putting the numbers aside. While the only stat that is very far behind is runs scored, he is equal to them in the other categories. Put Dave in – he deserves it in my book.

  7. I think the numbers speak for themselves and I agree with Rich, Jeff, and our host: in his era, Concepcion was the best at the most challenging defensive position. Let Dave in! PS – i recognize that i’m biased as Dave was – and is – my favorite player. But there is a reason for that admiration – he was incredible.

Leave a Reply

