Incredibly Consistent At The Plate, Tony Gwynn’s Signature Is Anything But…

Incredibly Consistent At The Plate, Tony Gwynn’s Signature Is Anything But…

I have a Tony Gwynn autographed baseball in my collection. I received the ball for my birthday from my wife and kids. They used my guidance for the purchase, and I shopped for quite a long time before settling in on the one that I chose.

My biggest while narrowing down my search is that I found some terrible inconsistencies with what I was seeing.

Take a look.

Exhibit A – very neat, very clean, easy to read. The autograph seems to ride up by the time Gwynn started his last name.

Exhibit B – perfectly centered, and quite bubbly. Not as easy to make out each letter, especially the ‘G’ in Gwynn, the signature reminds me of would be constructed by a fourth grade girl.

Exhibit C – A lot more like the first one, and since the HOF inscription is present, one has to assume that this ball has been done within the last few years.

See the dilemma?

I chose well, and I am the proud owner of a signed Tony Gwynn baseball. I played it safe, and felt the need to just be smart about it.

For my collection, Gwynn is a ‘Top Row’ ball – sitting amongst the best balls of my collection. And some of the best players that this sport has ever witnessed!!

:)

2 responses to “Incredibly Consistent At The Plate, Tony Gwynn’s Signature Is Anything But…

  1. Damn… this post proves that I could never work for PSA or JSA. All three of those autographs look pretty much the same to me. The only major difference is the G and the double N in the second ball.

    • Fuji- While I value what PSA and JSA offer, I am not 100% confident in what they offer.

      I think I know Dawson’s signature as well as anyone, and I have seen them pass items that I would tag as questionable and fake.

Leave a Reply

