Finally, A 2-Box 2013 Topps Archives ‘Retail Blaster Box Break’ – Come Check It Out!!!

Finally, A 2-Box 2013 Topps Archives ‘Retail Blaster Box Break’ – Come Check It Out!!!

Man, it took me forever to find these.  And trust me when I tell you that I was really putting some energy into hunting them down…

I was informed via the web that the release date had been pushed back from last Wednesday, the 29th to Friday, the 31st.  Well, I looked for Topps Archives on the 31st, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd before I finally found them today – four days after they were supposed to be on the shelves.

As soon as I saw them at Wal-Mart, I scooped up two boxes and headed for the register.  I had already seen, and bought a few, of the cards at the card show I attended over the weekend, but there is nothing better than ripping through the boxes yourself – NOTHING!!

Let me first say that I love the packaging of Archives – from the vintage design and colors of the box to the look and style of the packs themselves – it all screams ‘FUN’.  I think that the only upgrade that could be made is if Topps went back to their original wax paper packaging but I don’t see that occurring anytime soon…

That’s enough chit-chat, right?!?!

You want to see the cards, right?!?!?!

OK, let’s do this!!!

Box 1, Pack A – what a start: Lincecum, Stras, Machado!!

ARCHIVES BOX1A

Box 1, Pack B – I like the 4-in-1, but the image selection for Coleman is a bit odd…

ARCHIVES BOX1B

Box 1, Pack C – Gwynn All-Star!!!

ARCHIVES BOX1C

Box 1, Pack D – Another Gwynn, plus a Ripken and a Jeter ‘Tall Boy’

ARCHIVES BOX1D

Box 1, Pack E  – Gio, Phillips, Bryce Harper and a Mickey Rivers SP!!!

ARCHIVES BOX1E

Box 1, Pack F – Reggie and Palmer: 2 of my favorites!!!

ARCHIVES BOX1F

Box 1, Pack G – Jeez, call this the All-Star pack!!

ARCHIVES BOX1G

Box 1, Pack H – Rod Carew & Eddie Murray = NICE!!

ARCHIVES BOX1H

That was fun!  Let’s do another one!!!

Box 2, Pack A – Ted Williams, Ken Griffey Jr, and a Kent Hrbek SP!!!

ARCHIVES BOX2A

Box 2, Pack B – Wow, that Musial card is B-A-D!!!

ARCHIVES BOX2B

Box 2, Pack C – Morgan!!!  And my first double – Ryne Sandberg All-Star…

ARCHIVES BOX2C

Box 2, Pack D – Cannot complain about pulling Cabrera!  And I like the Ortiz card too.

ARCHIVES BOX2D

Box 2, Pack E – Struck GOLD with Phillips and also nabbed a Shelby Miller rookie!  And a Prince as well!  And a Charlie Hough 87 Topps SP!!!

ARCHIVES BOX2E

Box 2, Pack F – Profar rookie, Mike Trout, Gary Carter, and an Anthony Rizzo ‘Tall Boy’

ARCHIVES BOX2F

Box 2, Pack G – Loving the legends – Jackie, Yogi, ‘Pops’ and another double – the Gwynn All-Star.

ARCHIVES BOX2G

Box 2, Pack H – That Giants 4-in-1 is AWESOME!!!

ARCHIVES BOX2H

Man, that was a lot of fun.

I always enjoy pulling cards out of packs that reminds me of how much fun it was when I was a lot younger. Seeing cards surface that feature Tony Gwynn, Cal Ripken, and Paul Molitor takes me right back to when I was tearing through tons of Topps, Fleer, and Donruss cards in the late 1980’s!!

I think I did fairly well with my boxes.  Of course, I would have liked to have pulled an autograph or relic card, but I know that the odds are against me with the ‘Retail Blaster’ format.

I did not pull a single Marlins card (need to check the checklist to see how many there are) and I also did not nab the Dawson All-Star card.  I’ll seek those out, and more, through trades and on the web as more and more become available.

If anyone is building the set or team sets let me know as I may be able to help you.  And if you’re a player collector and see something you like, let me know as I am sure that we can work something out!!!

I’m going to look through the cards again now.  I’ll probably have some more posts about them in the coming days…

Thanks for reading!

20 responses to “Finally, A 2-Box 2013 Topps Archives ‘Retail Blaster Box Break’ – Come Check It Out!!!

  1. Ron Churchwell

    Great pulls Brian! I am interested in the Ripken, Gooden and Hrbek if you wanna work out a trade? lemme know and ty.

  2. Any Orioles or Nationals you don’t want I’ll gladly take off your hands.

  3. You’ll hate me then because of the Relics. I bought a blaster and 2 rack packs at Target on release day (5/31), and came away with 2 relics that day. Then, I went to Walmart on Sunday and bought another blaster and came away with another relic.

    I just started collecting the Archives myself this year, as a coworker baited me in by giving me his doubles from last year’s base set, and this is definitely a fun set to collect.

  4. Looks like a real fun set to collect. Reminds me of the old stuff my brother and I collected in the 80’s/90’s.

  5. NIce boxes! I love the Jeter and Rizzo tall boys – but I know you’re chasing the set. If you wind up with doubles some how, keep me in mind!

    I really like this set, I just wish (and we’ve discussed this before) that they’d use old-school card stock and take away the glossy finish. Yeah, the cards wouldn’t be as bright and perfect…..but it would be more Archivial.

    That’s a word.

  6. I’d like the David Wright and Wei Ye Chen base cards, I will send all the Marlins Archives I have!!! bp_weber5 AT hotmail DOT COM

  7. How about a trade for the 4X Giants sticker and the sticker with Rickey Henderson on it? I have an extra one of the 1972 Basketball designs of Giancarlo Stanton and I have his base card as well. LMK! Adam

  8. You’ll really hate me now, coworker and I each bought a blaster today, and I pulled my first autograph (Fred Lynn). I also got a Gallery of Heroes that I forgot to mention from last weekend (Buster Posey).

Leave a Reply

