Tony Gwynn 2013 Topps Archives – Base Card & 1983 All-Star Card

Tony Gwynn 2013 Topps Archives – Base Card & 1983 All-Star Card

I have to say that for all of the internal interest I created for the 2013 Topps Archives release, I am not liking the set as much as I thought that I would.

For as much as I am enjoying the subsets that the 2013 Archives set brought us, the image selection for this set is far from strong, and in many cases, I could call it ‘Poor’.

This lot of Tony Gwynn cards – featuring both his 1983 All-Star card and the base card utilizing the 1990 Topps design offers examples of both.

Have a look:

ARCHIVES GWYNN LOT

On one side, you have an All-Star card that hardly features an image that could be tagged as All-Star worthy.

And on the right, the action image of Gwynn is superb.

I’ll go on the record and call this one a ‘Draw’ but I cannot say for certain that the next lot I feature will be as nice to look at…

2 responses to “Tony Gwynn 2013 Topps Archives – Base Card & 1983 All-Star Card

  1. I actually prefer the image on the All-Star card, the one on the base card seems kinda boring to me. I’m still not that jazzed on the All-Star card, though, since it’s the same picture they used in last year’s Allen & Ginter set. Just seems lazy.

Leave a Reply

