Gary Carter 2013 Topps Archives – 1972 Topps Design

Gary Carter 2013 Topps Archives – 1972 Topps Design

Man, it seems like each and every card that I encounter from the 2013 Topps Archives set that uses the ’72 Topps design offers a zoomed-in image.

And way too ‘Zoomed-In’ at that!!!

This is Gary Carter’s card from the set:

ARCHIVES CARTER

I will say that I always enjoy adding a new Expos card to my collection.  And I really like the way that the teams’ nameplate looks when put into the ’72 Topps graphic design.

The photo choice, while too close, is a good one.  It features a very young Carter and is a great shout-out to those old, vintage, non-earflap having batting helmets!!

NICE!!!

2 responses to “Gary Carter 2013 Topps Archives – 1972 Topps Design

  1. Very nice. I miss the expos. When I was a kid they were one of the few teams I had the option of watching on TV. I lived in a rural area on the Canadian border. The only downside was the broadcasts were always in french. That being said, Gary was great for the sport. He died too young. In the age when it seemed like all the players were abusing drugs he always was a straight shooter. He will always be missed. I great player and a great guy. Rest in Peace.

    • Zebulon- Very well put. Carter was a true ambassador for the sport. I read his book earlier this year, and while many would say that he tried to hard to get in front of the cameras, it cannot be argued that he loved the sport immensely and always looked to give back.

Leave a Reply

