‘Million Dollar Question’ – If You Could Watch A Ballgame With Any Deceased Hall Of Famer, Who Would You Choose??

‘Million Dollar Question’ – If You Could Watch A Ballgame With Any Deceased Hall Of Famer, Who Would You Choose??

I hope that the title of this post does not sound too weird. If it does, I apologize….

But, with all of the great responses that last week’s ‘Million Dollar Question’ presented, I wanted to take this question one step further.

Last week, I asked what current Hall of Fame player would you most like to sit and watch a ballgame with.  And the answers were excellent – ranging from Willie Mays to Ozzie Smith to Goose Gossage to Eddie Murray.  And there were other excellent and exciting names suggested as well.

This week, I wanted to explore that kind of question a bit further.

Go back even further – to eras that you may not have experienced yourself but have learned about.  Maybe it is the 1920’s or 1940’s or 1960’s.

Either way, is there a player from that time that you would like to be able to learn more about from the source himself?  Is there a legend from generations ago that you always wished you know more about?

Great!!

For this week’s post, I want to know ‘If You Could Watch A Ballgame With Any Deceased Hall Of Famer, Who Would You Choose’???

As for my answer, I came up with it pretty easily.  And while the name may surprise you a bit, as it did me, I went with it for the educational approach.

For me, there is no player in the history of the sport that could teach and talk about the art of hitting a baseball better than Hall of Famer, Mr. Ted Williams.  So, my pick goes with him.  And I would have to think that after taking in a game with him and getting the time to chat about the sport and specifically hitting, I would probably watch baseball differently from there on out…

Ted williams

And now it is your turn – ‘If You Could Watch A Ballgame With Any Deceased Hall Of Famer, Who Would You Choose’??

I look forward to your answers!!  Have a great night.

19 responses to “‘Million Dollar Question’ – If You Could Watch A Ballgame With Any Deceased Hall Of Famer, Who Would You Choose??

  1. I’d say The Mick, even though I’d probably be drunk by the 3rd inning. From what I understand, he was a good time.

  2. Dizzy Dean. The guy had personality to spare and knew a million stories. I’m old enough to have heard him broadcast baseball and he was almost always much more entertaining than the game he was doing. It would be a blast.

  3. The only HOF’er that played during my time as a fan and has passed away (at least that I know of) is Kirby Puckett, so I’ll havta dig back into some history to make my choice. I think watching today’s game with a player during the Negro League days would be really interesting. Josh Gibson and Jackie Robinson come to mind, but I’d have to go with “Cool Papa” Bell. Seems like he’d have some cool stories from “back in the day”.

  4. My pick would be Satchel Paige. He’s experienced just about everything you can go through in baseball and he seems like he’d be a master story teller.

    Marcus has a great pick in Cool Papa Bell.

  5. 5 comments in and nobody’s mentioned the Babe???

  6. Stan Musial
    Satchel Paige

  7. Ron Churchwell

    I would have to go with the iconic Babe….This needs no explanation lol

  8. Ty Cobb, even though his reputation proceeds him as a nasty player. It would have been great to see his reaction when pitched in tight with chin music.

Leave a Reply

