TIME TO ANNOUNCE MY NEW ‘SUPER PLAYER COLLECTION’ – He’s An MVP & A Champion & A Hall OF Famer!!!

TIME TO ANNOUNCE MY NEW ‘SUPER PLAYER COLLECTION’ – He’s An MVP & A Champion & A Hall OF Famer!!!

This week has been full of announcements about the future player collections that I will be working on.

First, I announced that I will be adding two current players to my PC-Roster: Giancarlo Stanton & Bryce Harper

From there, I announced that I would be building modern-card collections that honor the incredible baseball careers of Frank Robinson, Hank Aaron, Reggie Jackson, and Roberto Clemente.

And now, I am ready to wrap up week of announcements by announcing that I am going to start building a new ‘Super Collection’ as well.  One that hopefully in time will mimic what I have been able to do with both my Fergie Jenkins and Jim Palmer collections.

In order to do this, I wanted to go after another player that represents the sport to me in a way that it should be represented.  The enjoyment that I get from learning more and more about this player as the years go by continues to escalate, and I find him to be an incredible ambassador for the sport.

As it relates to collecting this new player, I have already completed a set of major brand baseball cards from his playing days, a pre-requisite for any player that is joining the ranks of ‘Super Collection’ at ’30-Year Old Cardboard’.

This player is a former league MVP (2-time actually)….

He is a World Series Champion (2-time actually)….

And, he is an elite Hall of Famer…

He is Joe Leonard Morgan!!!!

PHOTO JOE MORGAN

And I cannot wait to get started!!

As I mentioned earlier in this post, I have already completed a major-brand set of cards that includes all of the cards issued during Morgan’s playing days.  Still, there are a ton of subset, insert, and oddball cards from that time that I can go after.  And the modern stuff is unreal – and I want it all!!!

Last night I finished updating my ‘Official Joe Morgan’ checklist to include all of the modern cards of him that I currently own. I am happy with the collection so far, but this thing will really take off now that I am dedicating some of my collecting focus on building a set of cards to really honor his amazing baseball career.

Stay tuned to ’30-YOC’.  You will surely enjoy, and possibly learn, more about the man who I consider to be the spark plug of ‘The Big Red Machine’ and the greatest second baseman in baseball’s grand history!!!

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

