Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Sports Illustrated 1997 Florida Marlins World Series Celebration

Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Sports Illustrated 1997 Florida Marlins World Series Celebration

I’ve been wanting to add a few more Marlins commemorative pieces to my collection.  Maybe a few inaugural pieces for both the 1993 and 2012 teams would be fun to go after.  And certainly stuff from the 1997 and 2003 World Series championships would be a blast as well.

Well, a dealer that I have never bought from before had a stack of magazines on his table, and they all appeared to be in pretty solid condition.

Thankfully, the top of the stack featured the November 1, 1997 issue of Sports Illustrated that celebrates the Marlins winning the World Series in walk-off style against the Indians in extra innings of Game 7.

And the issue was mint!!!

img265

 

There was no way that I was not going to bring this home.  I have so many memories of this series, and this team is easily one of my favorites of all-time.

More than 15 years after the event, I still vividly recall this game and exactly where I was and who I was with while watching it all unfold.

A perfect collectible for my collection and a great way to end the card show!!!

2 responses to “Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Sports Illustrated 1997 Florida Marlins World Series Celebration

  1. Excellent pick up! Are you using a bag & board or a magazine top loader to store it?

Leave a Reply

