2013 Collecting Goal Accomplished!!! My Nolan Ryan 1999 Topps Commemorative Set Is Done!!!

2013 Collecting Goal Accomplished!!!  My Nolan Ryan 1999 Topps Commemorative Set Is Done!!!

Friends, I have done it!!

I have finished one of my many 2013 collecting goals.  The 1999 Topps Nolan Ryan Commemorative set that I have been building for the better part of the year is finally complete.

The set features 27 cards in total – with the subject being one of each of Ryan’s base cards from his rookie card of 1968 to his final card from 1994.

It took me a bit longer to complete this set, but I think that I did so in a pretty economical manner.  Sure, there may have been a few gaps in time when I could not find a ‘deal’ worth making to add a card to my set, but I did not budge.  And eventually, I scored.

And now, the set is complete.  And it looks great.

Check it out:

Set 1 Set 2 Set 3

Nice, huh??

I am loving it!!!

And once I completed this set and really looked at the cards as a complete set, I immediately thought of how nicely this set captures Nolan Ryan’s career, and how Topps should produce one of these sets every season for a recently retired star.  I could just imagine this same style featuring cards of Chipper Jones and Mariano Rivera – now that would be awesome!!!

Thanks for reading.

8 responses to “2013 Collecting Goal Accomplished!!! My Nolan Ryan 1999 Topps Commemorative Set Is Done!!!

  1. It does look good. Even better than a recently retired star (in my opinion) would be to repro one of the all-time greats that today’s generation might not know a lot about…Bob Gibson, Sandy Koufax, Duke Snider, etc.

  2. Great set – I’m working on it, too. You beat me to it :)

  3. I really enjoyed all these retrospective sets when they released them back in the 90s and early 00s, but unfortunately so many players have so many reprints that I have to think it might be possible to buy reprinted versions of most of those players already from various sets.

    On the other hand, entire player-based sets would be nice to see again. And if they weren’t impossible to get, I would probably go after several of them myself! I am working on a few of the older ones though half-heartedly.

    And not to boast (ok, maybe a little) but I have the full regular and Chrome versions of this Ryan set, and have a few of the refractors. I certainly wouldn’t mind finding the rest of them at a great price, but I’m not really chasing that set right now. When I reentered the hobby I started with my favorites (Nolan and Tony Gwynn) so I really stockpiled cards of them.

  4. They’re all in pages, with the regular set in the left pockets, chrome in the middle pockets, and refractors supposedly in the right pockets (for the few I have). I have a Nolan Ryan binder that holds that set as well as the Pacific sets from the 90s and any other Nolan Ryan “sets” I have.

Leave a Reply

