Fergie Jenkins 2013 Topps ‘Chasing History’ Game-Used Bat Relic Card

Fergie Jenkins 2013 Topps ‘Chasing History’ Game-Used Bat Relic Card

Have a look at this beauty!!!

img510

 

I’ve been drooling over this card for more than six months so it was a great thrill to finally find one in my price range after seeing a handful of them sell for quite a bit more than what I would have wanted to pay.

Now, my focus is on the ‘Gold’ version of the same card.

Let me take a minute to say that I am more than a little puzzled by the card – This card comes from the Chasing History subset.  Each of Topps’ flagship releases in 2013 has included 50 cards for this subset, making 150 total.  But, Jenkins is not in any of them.  Kind of odd, right?

So, the Jenkins’ relic card design was made just for the relic set?  That doesn’t seem very cost-effective if you ask me…

But, I will not complain about it – just celebrate it!!  The card is sharp and offers incredible color.  I’m a big fan of cards that feature Fergie and the butterfly-collar that he sported under his jersey in the 1970′s and it is captured nicely in this picture very nicely.

An excellent addition to my Fergie Jenkins PC!!!

4 responses to “Fergie Jenkins 2013 Topps ‘Chasing History’ Game-Used Bat Relic Card

  1. I kind of like bat cards for pitchers. I guess the bats should be more rare than for position players, right? (I think too much.)

    • Hackenbush- The way that I see it is that if the feat was a hitting feat, a bat makes sense. But for a pitcher, most revolve around their performance on the mound, and that works better for a swatch of fabric from a jersey. Just my two cents.

  2. It’s a pitcher bat relic!!! I have one for Andy Pettitte. So weird – I’ll never trade it.

Leave a Reply

