My 2013 Collecting Year In Review

My 2013 Collecting Year In Review

At the end of every year, I like to go back to my ‘Collecting Goals’ post from January 1 and see how I did and if I was able to stay on track.

This year is no different, so I will post my original collecting goals for the 2013 collecting year and then provide updates in Red as to how I did with them.

Here we go:

1 – Andre Dawson player collection.  My Dawson collection has shaped up very nicely.  I added some bulk to my autograph and relic collections in 2012.  I am hoping to bring more certified cards into my collection in 2013.   My goal is reach 1,100 unique cards this year.  I currently set with 1,056.  If Dawson is in a handful of 2013 releases, I don’t think that this will be a problem to accomplish.  In addition to cards, I am going to try working on a few new projects that will bolster both the size and quality of my ‘Ultimate Dawson’ collection.  I promise that it will be FUN!!!  I’m at 1,132 and a lot of that is thanks to Gypsy Queen, Panini Hometown Heroes, and the Topps/Cubs special edition set.

2 – Fergie Jenkins player collection.  The size of my Fergie Jenkins collection increased nicely in 2012, but I did not meet my collecting goal of 284 cards.  I am at 248, and will work to get to 300 by the end of the year.  The problem lies with Fergie not being in too many base sets.  He gets into a lot of autograph subsets, but not the main set, and that hurts the ease of nabbing new/affordable cards.  I am going to have to go back to the 1970s and 1980s to hit my goal.  Luckily, there are enough oddballs out there that I still need.  My Jenkins collection is up to 290 unique cards – I tried for 300, but I have not had much luck nabbing Jenkins autos this year and they hurt my numbers a bit..

3 – Jim Palmer player collection.  The first year of building my Jim Palmer set was awesome.  I have 197 different Palmer cards in my collection at this time.  I am going to shoot for 270 as my goal.  Between keeping up with his 2013 releases and there being a ton of 2012 and 2011 cards that I need of him, I am hoping I can do this.  In addition to that, there a lot of oddball cards of Palmer from the 1970s and 1980s that I want to scoop up too.  Lastly, I really want to nab a few more auto and relic cards of Palmer as the year goes by.  I am at 239 which is well below where I wanted to be; I really slacked off on this one – especially on the relic and auto front.  I am going to have to change that.  And more oddballs too!

4 – Player Collections.  Overall, my current player collections are coming along nicely.  I should complete my Alan Trammell, Dave Parker, Rollie Fingers, and Eric Davis collections in the coming months.  I am still chipping away at some of the other PC’s I am working on too – Tony Perez, Brooks Robinson, Mike Schmidt, Johnny Bench, and of course Billy Williams.  If all goes well, I will add some new (old) cards of each of these guys to my collection in the coming year.  And after I complete a few more PC’s, I have some great ideas for a few more to get started on.  I did well completing several PC’s and starting a few new ones, including several modern players as well.  

5 – Florida/Miami Marlins team sets.  I am loving my album of team sets that pays homage to the history of the Florida/Miami Marlins.  I currently have 46 completed team sets of ‘The Fish’ in my collection, and I look to build the count up to 80 in the coming year.  I easily crushed my original goal of 80 team sets - I am at 114 Marlins team sets right now and this collection is cruising right along!  I LOVE IT!!!

6 – Nolan Ryan 1999 Topps Commemorative Set.  I scooped a few cards from this set at a recent card show.  I love the look of the card’s special logo, and I think that building the set would be a great challenge.  The set is not large, and I am not certain as to how they were obtained back in 1999, but they seem to be on the rare side as I do not find them readily available.  This will be a blast!   Mission Completed.

7 – Hank Aaron 2000 Topps Commemorative Set.  Like the Nolan Ryan set, this is another one that I cannot wait to go after.  I have just one card from this set, but it was enough to get me interested in the whole thing.  Like the Ryan card, this set that honors Hank Aaron has a superb Golden logo that really stands out as a great graphic feature of the card.  I am ready to go after this one – Now!  Mission Completed, Part 2.

8 – Signed Baseball Collection.  My signed baseball collection is looking SWEET!!  I am just under 100 signed balls as we start the 2013 collecting year.  I will have no problem reaching the magical number of 100 this year, but my goal is about more than that.  This year, I am seeking quality over quantity!!  I already have two balls in the works that have that goal in mind.  Now, it is time to stick with that goal and execute for the entire year.  Today, I am at 109 signed baseballs with two more in the works.  I shifted my focus to quality over quantity in 2013, and it paid off as my HOF collection is really starting to come together nicely.

And there you have it.  It’s a lot, but it is a lot of fun too!

How did you do this year?  Stay on track with your goals or did you fumble and get off-course?  I’d love to hear how everyone else did in 2013!!!

Thanks for reading.  And Happy New Year!!!

8 responses to “My 2013 Collecting Year In Review

  1. I did very well this year in accomplishing most of my vintage goals. Picked up two more Steve Carlton Rookies, along with a very rare Milton Bradley card from 1972, among others, as I close in on having 10 (1 for a set, and 9 for a page), of all of Carlton’s cards issued during his playing career. I also picked up many Jose Fernandez rookies, including a 2011 Bowman Sterling certified auto, and many Yasiel Puig rookies for my modern collection.

    My biggest accomplishment however, was picking up close to 30k worth of vintage cards, in all 4 sports, to complete sets.

  2. I like the way you collect. Keeping a focused approach.
    Patrick

  3. You did awesome in 2013! Can’t wait to see what 2014 brings you!

  4. I had a great year. I finished the year at 105 signed Hall of Fame baseballs. My goal was to hit 100. Kirby Puckett was number 100 but I also added Lefty Gomez and Cool Papa Bell two Hall of Famers that are not easy to come by.

    I’m sitting at 176 of 188 autographed 1988 and 1989 Pacific Legends cards. My goal was to get to 90% of the set I’m at 94%. The rest will be tough/expensive though.

    I’m also at 463 of 792 autographed cards from the 1989 Topps set. My goal was to get to 50%. I actually hit 58%.

    I hit all three goals. Hopefully next year will be just as good for the collection

Leave a Reply

