Baseball Card Show Purchase #7 – 4/5 Cards From The 1997 Topps Roberto Clemente Commemorative Set

Baseball Card Show Purchase #7 – 4/5 Cards From The 1997 Topps Roberto Clemente Commemorative Set

I bought these four cards from the same seller that I picked up the 1989 Topps Andre Dawson coin from.

As I mentioned in that post, his table was full of vintage oddball stuff  – and I rummaged through a majority of it.

I came across these four cards of Roberto Clemente and I was immediately intrigued.

Have a look:

img616

Upon reviewing the cards, I saw that they were numbered as RC1, RC2, RC3, and RC4.  I immediately wanted to know if I had a full set, but the dealer did not know.  Still, I bought them all with the goal of learning more when I got home and was able to get online.

Well, research shows that this is a 5-card set.  They were randomly inserted into packs of 1997 Topps Series 1 and Series 2.  And they are not that rare – you could find one in every twelve packs.

As for card #5, I will have to seek it out so I can complete my set!

3 responses to “Baseball Card Show Purchase #7 – 4/5 Cards From The 1997 Topps Roberto Clemente Commemorative Set

  1. Interesting little set. I’ve never seen it before. Good luck finding card #5!

  2. Pingback: Roberto Clemente 1997 Topps Gold ‘A Tribute To Roberto Clemente’ Card #RC5 | 30-Year Old Cardboard

Leave a Reply

