Million Dollar Question – As The 2014 Collecting Year Begins, What Are You Most Looking Forward To?

Million Dollar Question – As The 2014 Collecting Year Begins, What Are You Most Looking Forward To?

This question is open enough to bring out a wide array of replies, and I look forward to seeing the things that people bring up as they offer up a reply.

For me, there is a lot to look forward to as the 2014 collecting year begins.

But, there is also one thing that stands out quite a bit more than anything else.

That thing?

The Miami Marlins

Yep, my Marlins. I am very eager to see how they are treated this year, especially by Topps.  The team now has two superstars – Giancarlo Stanton and Jose Fernandez.  And with a few more household names on the roster like Jarrod Saltalamacchia and Rafael Furcal on the roster, I am hopeful that we get more than 3-card and 4-card team sets from products like Gypsy Queen, Allen & Ginter, and Tribute.  The Marlins are stocked up young players, and many are capable of becoming major contributors to the team’s success and I will think that it will be interesting to see if and when Topps latches on to it.  Players like Nate Eovaldi, Steve Cisek, Marcel Ozuna, Christian Yelich, Adeiny Hechavaria, Henderson Alvarez, and Garrett Jones should all be decent options for Topps to throw into some sets this year.

Time, and checklists, will tell.  And I cannot wait!

How about you?  What are you most looking forward to seeing out of the 2014 collecting year??

Miami Marlins logo

17 responses to “Million Dollar Question – As The 2014 Collecting Year Begins, What Are You Most Looking Forward To?

  1. For me it’s the (hopeful) release of Oscar Tavares RC. Tavares will likely be the Cardinals starting Center Fielder this year and hopefully ROY!

  2. I’m looking forward to Buxton, Sano , and Myers. The Twins have been bad for a few years, their farm system is stacked. That should start to show by September call ups.

    • Zebulon- I think the Twins should shake it up and replace the manager too. Gardy has been there way too long – give the whole team a fresh start!!

      • Your right in line with a lot of Twins fans. I like Gardy, the man seems like he gets ejected every other game and that’s some what endearing. The Twins did add Molitor to his staff, if he falters again, look for Molitor to be given control.

  3. I wish I could say I was hopeful about the Cubs this year but I’m waiting for 2016–maybe. In terms of collecting I’m going to continue bargain hunting, selling a few things and hopefully getting my huge mess of a collection organized so I can appreciate it more. Sorry if all that is a bit off point.

  4. I’m looking forward to Topps Heritage (sweet 1965 design!), 1986 design Archives cards and 2014 Bowman 1989 design insert cards. I’m also very interested in seeing how Grant Balfour pitches this year. Probably every Orioles fan (and every baseball agent for that matter) is very interested in seeing how he pitches this upcoming year.

  5. New Marlins, Pirates, Red Sox, Twins, Steve Carlton, and 2014 Gyspy Queen cards!

  6. Topps heritage, Red Sox world series cards, and Gypsy Queen

Leave a Reply

