30-Year Old Cardboard’s “STATE OF THE JENKINS”

30-Year Old Cardboard’s “STATE OF THE JENKINS”

Once a year I try to give a complete recap of my major player collections.  This gives me a chance to time-stamp the full collection on my blog so I can keep this data stored in an easy to find manner while also getting to share the information with the great readers of ’30-YOC’.

In the past this has served me very well as I have met some great player collectors through these posts – and also struck up some great trades too.

This is 30-Year Old Cardboard’s “STATE OF THE JENKINS”.

Here is a complete breakdown of my entire Fergie Jenkins baseball card collection:

  • total cards – 290
  • cards from playing days – 65
  • cards issued post retirement – 225
  • relic cards – 48
  • in-person / TTM autographs – 8
  • certified autographs – 18

My Fergie Jenkins collection of cards is easily one of my favorites – it is also the hardest collection to grow.  For the vintage stuff, the cards that have eluded me are ones that carry very high price tags (true oddball stuff or rare OPC cards).  And for modern cards, I pretty much have everything of him that has been issued and is not a very low-serial-number.

I hope that both Topps and Panini continue to include Fergie in their new releases as this is the only way that I will be able to truly add bulk to my collection.

My fingers are crossed that the 2014 checklists have the last name of ‘Jenkins’ included on many of them!

fergie jenkins photo

 

2 responses to “30-Year Old Cardboard’s “STATE OF THE JENKINS”

  1. I wouldn’t mind collecting Ferguson myself. Eventually I’ll focus on gaining more of his cards and autos. You’ve done a great job collecting him and building your collection around him and Andre. Your always inspiring ME!

Leave a Reply

