Million Dollar Question – Which Do You Prefer: Topps’ Emerald Foil OR Ruby Foil?

Million Dollar Question – Which Do You Prefer:  Topps’ Emerald Foil OR Ruby Foil?

With the launch of the 2014 Topps Series 1 baseball card set last week, we all got a taste of the first new product for 2014.

Personally, I really like the cards.  The image selection (on most) is strong, and the graphics are complementary to the image while not being or taking away from the main attraction – the photo.

With this new set comes a new version to a common Topps theme – a colored parallel.

In 2013, we had the Emerald Foil Parallel as seen here:

Trout Emerald

And now, in 2014, we have the Ruby Foil card:

Stanton Ruby

This got me to wondering which one was better – better to look at, better baseball color, etc.  It also got me to wondering if my opinion was in the majority or the minority.

So, I now pose that question to you:  Which Do You Prefer:  Topps’ Emerald Foil OR Ruby Foil?

For me, I will go with the Ruby Foil.  Throughout the year last year, I always thought that the Emerald was a bit too dark and which ultimately made the images on the cards appear quite a bit darker.  The Ruby (so far) looks and feels lighter.  And I also think the Ruby-Red color is a better baseball fit as Red is a commonly shared color among many of MLB’s teams.

My choice is Ruby!!

Harper Ruby

And now it if your turn to choose.  Which Do You Prefer:  Topps’ Emerald Foil OR Ruby Foil?

Sound off now!

25 responses to “Million Dollar Question – Which Do You Prefer: Topps’ Emerald Foil OR Ruby Foil?

  1. Emerald. The green pops a little better and is brighter.

  2. I’m going with the Ruby. The picture of the player (as well as the team logo) pops more than it does with the emerald card. Now if the yellow foil was an option it could be a totally different answer.

  3. You’re right about the darkness of the green, but I still prefer it over the red. Personally, I’d rather the blue sparkles from the Opening Day set, those were pretty good in my book. Also, the Padres uniforms don’t really match with red, so they’re not cards that I’m actively searching out.

  4. Green by far. I cannot stand the red this year.

  5. Ruby. Cards really pop. I hope the Ruby foil don’t curl like the emerald.

  6. Red is the lesser of two evils.

  7. Ill have to vote for the Red on this one… just looks nicer to me… im surprised Topps didnt do that with all their colored borders since they have like a dozen other colors, only the red foil is of the foil variety on base cards…

  8. Emerald because it suggests grass and is therefore more “real”. The ruby makes me think of a bloody slaughterhouse and that’s too real..

  9. Red just looks better than the green so red

  10. I like them both

Leave a Reply

