I Told You I Would Finish That 1997 Topps Gold Roberto Clemente Set…

I Told You I Would Finish That 1997 Topps Gold Roberto Clemente Set…

I told you, I told you…

At the baseball card show that I attended back in January, I was able to grab 4 of 5 cards from a 1997 Topps Gold tribute set that celebrated the career of Roberto Clemente.  At the time, I did not know that the set was just 5 cards deep, but I thought that being able to purchase cards 1-4 was a pretty solid start.

When I returned home from the show, I did a little homework and learned that the card was indeed just 5 cards deep.

And then I made it a collecting mission of mine to nab.

And I was able to grab RC5, the fifth card, two weeks ago and I posted about it here.

Now, the set is complete.  And it looks great!!

Check it out:

img842

 

I have to say that the set was very easy to piece together and I am especially proud to honor the career of Mr. Clemente in this way.

I wish that there were more of these kinds of sets out there – they are right up this collector’s alley!

2 responses to “I Told You I Would Finish That 1997 Topps Gold Roberto Clemente Set…

  1. These look awesome! Congratulations on completing your set. By the way… I found a few of these on COMC, but they have it listed as 1998 Topps Clemente Tribute. Did you also collect any of those cool 1998 Topps Clemente reprints? That would be a pretty fun set to build too.

Leave a Reply

